It’s Raining Men…..

f6098c9733d46ca4e03025b3112fe722

Hiya Blogland!!! This week we’re gonna enjoy the polyester plumage of Men’s fashion in the 70’s!! Again I’m sharing vintage advertisements chronicling all of the awesomeness!!

But first–I am so thrilled and honored to be Spy-Girled!!! Thanks Anne!!

7-2_tamera_52_AnneM_BrayNow on to the StudMuffin Fest!!

Who can forget the nylon printed shirts? Dig that groovy suit!!

Who can forget the nylon printed shirts? Dig that groovy suit!!

Men's fashion got very colorful in the 70's!!

Men’s fashion got very colorful in the 70’s!!

Dig the groovy hats!!

Dig the groovy hats!!

Supah-fly!!! Those jumpsuits are hilarious!!

Supah-fly!!! Those jumpsuits are hilarious!!

The peacock jumpsuit is just freakin' amazing. And the other "thing"--no words!!

The peacock jumpsuit is just freakin’ amazing. And the other “thing”–no words!!

Boy Dockers and a polo shirt look mighty tame these days compared to the outfits guys wore in the 70’s!!

Monday’s outfit was definitely “I’m outta bed and dressed-what more do you want” kind of outfit. I left the tunic loose and “surrendered my waist” (My waist waved the white flag years ago!) Everything is thrifted except the shoes-which are ancient. It was loose and easy for a miserable jungle humid day.

notice the little photobomber butt!!!

Notice the little photobomber butt!!!

Gracey at Fashion for Giants is hosting a monthly Literary Stylings Challenge. You dress inspired by the book you are reading. My literary choices recently haven’t been all that exciting. I just finished Reversing Diabetes by Dr. Joel Fuhrman and am currently reading Eat for Health by the same. There’s a lot of discussion about eating salads in both books. So salad inspired my outfit today. Behold: Literary Salad Inspired Fashion!!

Celery, Carrots, and other healthy stuff!!

Celery, Carrots, and other healthy stuff!!

I hope everyone who celebrates has a wonderful 4th of July!! We are planning on visiting the in-laws at the farm and introducing Gracie!! Unfortunately I have to work Friday so it limits our plans a bit. however, due to the joys of Sequestration it will be the last Friday I work until October. Yup–i’m furloughed the next 14 Fridays. SUPER. Gonna have to be extra frugal as the hubster is also furloughed!!

I’ll be back Thursday evening with more 70’s fun!!

TTFN

Tamera

22 comments
  1. Virginia said:

    Oh what a hoot! Loving the pimp hat on the guy in the yellow pants. And the mighty mouse tee shirt and the guy in the purple jumpsuit with the black ruffled shirt. Just the cheering up I needed.
    And raining men would be a lot better than what we are getting here in northern New England. I just came back from viewing a road washout on the other side of town. And it is pouring AGAIN. Glad I live on a hill, as long as the road doesn’t wash out.

    • Everywhere around me has been getting deluged–but i’ve had may 2/10’s an inch in 2 weeks. The rain dome holds!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  2. The 70’s, were every guy dressed like a pimp! Whatever that man is wearing next to the peacock jumpsuit, I think is illegal in 5 states.

    • I’m still trying to wrap my mind around whatever THAT is–a special pocket??

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  3. Congratulations on you Spy Girl sketch! I remember the 70’s ensembles for men like it was yesterday. A sweet spot in time, I must say.

    How vibrant and fun is your literary inspired ensemble!

    • Men definitely were much bolder in their dress back then!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  4. Vix said:

    The Spy Girl sketch is fabulous! I love the literary inspiration, too.
    Those adverts are brilliant. I can see Helga’s G in that jumpsuit and the pimp coat with the furry trim is brilliant! Keep them coming. xxx

    • Helga’s G-man would totally ROCK everyone of those pimp-suits and jumpsuits!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  5. clare said:

    that pimp suit is just amazing – so much facial hair all round. Not you of course! You look fab in your salad inspired outfit, beautiful colours, it makes me feel peckish!

    • pimp suits are EXACTLY what I thought of, too. Yet I remember many definitely NOT pimps stylin’ in those threads!! Pimp Wanna-bes?

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  6. Congratulations on being Spyed! Anne’s post about her Crazy Quilt made me go back and look at her older posts, which also took me on a trip back to the ’70s. The clothes here look more late ’60s to me, though – by the ’70s I was pretty much always in Levi’s and smock tops. I bet they had to pay the male models a whole lotta bread to wear those clothes!

    I love your salad outfit – bright, lovely colors! Are these your salad days? (I never have really figured out what that means.) Anyway, nice choice of “dressing.”

    • Scary thing isI remember wearing a lot of this stuff in high school

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  7. 50 and counting said:

    Happy July4th from the Great White North! It’s also my brother’s birthday.

    Good colourful choices in food and clothes are great for a body.

    I’ve been reading Swedish crime novels, so how should I be dressing? lol.

    A poster on a forum I hide in has the best signature ever. “A waist is a terrible thing to mind”. Sums it up nicely once you hit a certain age.

    • hmmm-Swedish Crime novels– Wallender??

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  8. pastcaring said:

    Congrats on being Spygirled, the sketch is fabulous!
    Wow, so many glorious 70s looks. Cock of the walk, indeed… Why don’t more men wear jumpsuits, I wonder?
    You look comfortable and colourful and lovely as always, Tamera! Your literary interpretation made me laugh – a salad outfit, genius! xxxx

    • Men certainly were more daring fashion-wise in the 70’s!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  9. Colorful. Rebellious. Daring!!, hurrah for that!, love that fabulous 70’s looks, amazing jumpsuits, awesome shoes and delightful hats!!
    And your colorful outfits seems really comfy to fight that heat staying stylish and gorgeous!
    besos & lots of fun

    • Can you just picture MrAllnut in any of those outfit?LOLOLOL

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  10. Amber of Butane Anvil said:

    All-around wonderful and hilarious, Tamera!
    Thanks also for your kind comments.

    • so much polyester hilarity!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  11. Thank you so much for participating, especially with such difficult books to channel. I love your “salad-inspired” ensemble and think it embodies the challenge. Literature can be hard to translate to an outfit and yours is brilliant. Thank you also for the peacock leisure suit you posted. That thing thrills me to no end!

    • Thanks Gracey–i’m making sure i’m reading something less “obtuse” this month!! I think you could totally ROCK that peacock leisure suit todaY!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

Thanks for visiting!! I love to hear what you're thinking!! I read all of your posts and will try to answer them!

