Put on your boogie shoes…..

250px-Disco_ball4

Hiya Blogland!!! Has everyone had a wonderful weekend?? Doggyfest went very well. Gracie was excited to meet Noelle the grandpuppy. MrBill is still recuperating from all the excitement!

We took a long walk along the towpath. The area here is very “wild” with high stone cliffs. The doggies loved all the smells and such!

view of the river at the landing. Notice the cute photobomb!

View of the river at the landing. Notice the cute photobomb!

dogsToday we’re going to travel in the flashback machine to the land of Saturday Night Fever!!! Lets get out our finest polyester and DISCO!!disco

And for some total randomness-Couldn’t you just picture our Festival goddess Vix in that crochet halter dress?? I am totally digging Liz Taylor who, even at a “certain age” rocked the mini, boots and fringed poncho. She certainly wasn’t invisible!70sgals2

And for even more randomness, I stopped by the Goodwill after church today. Picked up some craft stuff and was ready to leave when I spied this AMAZING skirt. It’s be Geiger of Austria and is 100% woven wool. It has the most amazing print of the alps and yodelers and such. I Googled the company-they’ve been around for over 100 years.  A similar skirt sold for $398 in 2010!!!! No clue what size it is-the label has no indication. It has a 35″ waist and is to my ankles (I’m 5’4). I got it for $3!!! Anyone interested in it?? I immediately thought of SheilaEphemera-it’s such a quirky print.

And now for my not so exciting OOTD. It’s so miserable humid that I just let the wings fly again! There’s nothing new here–I’ve worn this dress several times since last year. Oh–the necklace is a gift from the Queen Of Glastonbury Vix!!

001

This week we will be checking out the polyester peacocks of 70’s men’s fashion!!  This has been a blast seeing these styles again!! How I wished I had saved (and could fit in!!) the stuff I wore then!!

Anyone else remember doing "the Bump"???

Anyone else remember doing “the Bump”???

I’m linking up with the Very Visible ladies at Visible Monday this week. See y’all on Tuesday!

 

TTFN

Tamera

 

31 comments
  1. 50 and counting said:

    Uhm, we were doing the Bump on my unit just this past Friday! It helps when your co-workers are also of a certain age.

    Candie’s sandals and Seafarer jeans. Too many memories!

    Oh and brilliant score on a Geiger skirt!. I’ve bought some of their stuff whilst on holiday in Austria and they are not cheap. Trachtenmoden to the nth degree. I have a suit that I bought back in the late ’80s and a dirndl outfit (that I no longer fit into).

    • I remeber “bumping” to that Bertha Butt song way back when!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  2. Oh those photos of SNF days . . . I’m young again! I saw that movie on my (first) honeymoon and will never forget it : > You look cool and happy in your maxi dress, and yes, that crochet dress does scream “Vix”. Thanks for sharing all the fun with Visible Monday. xoxoxo

    • It amazes me how much of 70’s fashion has come back around!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  3. Candies! Not very easy to walk in, but who cared? Not me.

    • Who cared about walking when we could barely breathe in our skin-tight disco jeans? Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  4. These pictures are so funny – I don’t know whether to laugh or cry!

    • Tell hte truth Val–did you sport any of these fab styles back in the day?? ;D

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  5. Ohhhh, yes. I remember these 70’s references.
    Wow, what a great color maxi dress.

    • It’s fun looking back!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  6. As I’m looking at temps across the country, it’s strange to see so many areas of the country hotter than FL.

    • It’s not the heat as much as the rainforest humidity

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  7. I LOVE YOU!!!! You are making me laugh and cry at the same time. You’re right, Vix would wear that crocheted dress like it was made for her!! I kinda want that outfit that Liz was rocking, although I think I’d add tights and a little less hairspray. Your maxi is perfect, as always. How would we live without them?!! Love you!!! XXOO

    • Thanks Jean–70’s fashion was FUN as opposed to a lot of the stuff today!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  8. Krista said:

    I love a good fro! These are hilarious and make me miss big hair and bigger bells! Love your easy breezy maxi, man the humidity sucks don’t it! The doggies look so happy and they should be what a beautiful place to wander. Enjoy your week sweetie!
    Xxxxoooo

  9. I lived in NYC during the SNF era and worked in Strawberry, a chain boutique that is still going strong. Lots of “bridge and tunnel” coworkers and the soundtrack played nonstop.
    I can’t tell you how badly I want that crochet halter dress! Anyone around here good with a crochet hook? I’ll trade you with some art (nicely framed even).

    BTW, your comment on my post went into the secret Blogger zone again. You have super spy skillz! I copied it into Disqus.

    • I could crochet that dress………for a Barbie maybe-LOLOL

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  10. OMG! I would totally rock that Liz Taylor getup in a second! I remember the Candies but in my circle it was all about the Corkies. I wore ridiculously high platforms. It’s a wonder I didn’t break my neck. Thanks for the disco flashback 😉

    Alicia

    • Oh yeah-CORKIES!!! Loved them–and Famolares with the wavy soles!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  11. Sheila said:

    Oh man, major flashbacks! I love the 70s fashion so much.

    My waist is 31″, but I think that skirt would sit on my hips – can you send me a picture of it, please? I would love to see what it looks like. It sounds amazing!

  12. You look super fly, Baybeeeee.!
    I’ve always thought the 70’s were underrated. I especially remember a double breasted, black faux lamb maxi-coat, inspired by “Doctor Zhivago” … I am really sorry I let it get alway, years ago. And a deep burgandy maxi dress that I just loved. Sigh.
    Dog-babies look great … so happy for all of you!

    • not that I could get my fat butt in it–but i wish I had the purple fake fur car coat my mom got me in middle school (circa 72-73) i HATED it then but would totally rock it now!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  13. Vix said:

    The Seventies! Yay! I’m away for a week and miss all the fun! Loving that glorious dress of yours and would kill for that crochet number, if only I was a happy hooker and could whip one up!
    The doggies are having a blast! xxx

    • Glad to hear you had so much fun at Glasto!! Everyone immediately thought of you with that dress!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  14. The candies really brought back memories! Yup, hard to walk in tho and the wood gave you callouses. But hey, all for fashion!

    • Worn with skin tight Disco jeans and a sequin tubetop……

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  15. pastcaring said:

    Fabulous 70s looks! Love the Vixified crochet dress and look at sexy Liiz!
    Of course I remember the bump. And flares and sequins and the sea of polyester. Wonderful!
    Love your maxi, and how great that the dog babies like each other! xxxx

    • Wouldn’t you LOVE to have some of these outfits today??

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  16. clare said:

    don’t you wish your hair was a big a Liz Taylor’s? I certainly do! Such cute dog photos, Gracie certainly likes to be everywhere the action is! More wonderful 70s fashion, I want to wear it all!

    • Gracie is quite the busy body!! I wish I had kept my 70’s stuff. Not that I could get my fat butt IN it….

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

Thanks for visiting!! I love to hear what you're thinking!! I read all of your posts and will try to answer them!

