I’m a Yankee Doodle Dandy!!

9c5563baf657d1d9aba7293854a6910c

Happy Fourth of July!!

Hiya Blogland!! Don’t think you can get much dandier than 70’s Liberace in sequined hotpants!!

Our little Diva-ette is rocking a patriotic outfit of the Diva’s. I’m sure she is looking down in approval!

009

Today I’ll be sharing some vintage Bicentennial images. 1976 was the 200th birthday of the United States and we celebrated in groovy 70’s cheesetasticness!!

1.Gunne Sax Dress-I NEED this! 2. Tooled leather purse 3. Patriotic Gaucho's!

1.Gunne Sax Dress-I NEED this!
2. Tooled leather purse
3. Patriotic Gaucho’s!

1. Colonial inspired prints were the rage! 2. Notice Willis from Different Strokes?

1. Colonial inspired prints were the rage!
2. Notice Willis from Different Strokes?

Barbies, Colonial prints and a Bicentennial shirt ad

Barbies, Colonial prints and a Bicentennial shirt ad

Sew your own Colonial Garb!

Sew your own Colonial Garb!

Companies tied i nto the bicentennial with their advertising. Even if it made no sense whatsoever. Bicentennial CHAINSAWS??

Companies tied into the Bicentennial with their advertising. Even if it made no sense whatsoever. Bicentennial CHAINSAWS??

More bicentennial themed advertisements. It was "stick a flag on EVERYTHING"

More bicentennial themed advertisements. It was “stick a flag on EVERYTHING”

We can't overlook dishes and such! There are still loads of this crap in thrifts!

We can’t overlook dishes and such! There are still loads of this crap in thrifts!

Like I said-they put flags on the strangest stuff!

Like I said-they put flags on the strangest stuff!

Pins and patches

Pins and patches

Cuddly Ben Franklin doll, Avon does Bicentennial, the Official 1976 Bicentennial Edition Pacer Car, Hallmark Tin

Cuddly Ben Franklin doll, Avon does Bicentennial, the Official 1976 Bicentennial Edition Pacer Car, Hallmark Tin

I want ALL of these!!

I want ALL of these!!

Flip wilson, susan ford & Sonny Bono on People, Fat Elvis in his blue Bicentennial Costume, KISS!!

Flip Wilson, Susan Ford & Sonny Bono on People, Fat Elvis in his blue Bicentennial Costume, KISS!!

I dressed about as patriotic as I’m gonna get for work yesterday. This outfit also fit right in with this weeks SpyGirl’s 52 Pick-me-up Challenge: Black, White, Red, Blue!

This is my outside edition

This is my outside version!

This is my ice-box office version!

This is my ice-box office version!

Vintage blingy!

Vintage blingy!

I’m also linking up a bit late with Jane at Flight Platform Living for Shiny T Tuesday-Red Sky at Night. This is about the only red I own. I need to remedy that!!

I hope everyone has a fantastic weekend!! I’ll be back on Sunday with more fun!!

TTFN

Tamera

26 comments
  1. Rachel Furr said:

    I love to read about all your amazing ideas. Also I love seeing pictures of your dogs.

    • Rachel–HELLO!!!  I’ve got to get y’all over to meet the new baby!! MrBill just loves her and is so happy to have a friend again!!

      Tamera  

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  2. KC said:

    The Liberace pic is … er … unforgettable.

    • The pinnacle of 70’s Camp!!

      Tamera  

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  3. Very patriotic. And great picture of Lee.

  4. janeggg said:

    i love you in red! for sure go buy some more! your smile is so gorgeous! thank you for linking and thank you for the liberace smile this morning, you took me back to my childhood when we would watch him all the time and marvel at those walk through closets of his!

    • Thanks Jane–what amazed me is that little old ladies back then never dreamt he was gay!!

      Tamera  

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  5. Red really suits you and I love all the amazing pictures you posted – especially the cute Diva-ette in her costume. Hope you had a wonderful day.

    • Thanks-i’m having a blast going back to the 70’s!!

      Tamera  

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  6. that first photo is going to get stuck in my brain, wouuaaaa
    you know how to amuse us with lots of 70’s stuff really indescribable!!,
    and you look pretty in your tricolor outfit, and that bijouterie is amazing!
    besos & have a nice weekend!

    • Having survives the 70’s–it was a pretty funny time!

      Tamera  

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  7. you’re my second friend who posted that Liberace photo! Of course, he wants to wear the costume!

    I’ve made that men’s pattern, it’s great for that time period, the women’s is not so good.

    I want the stars and stripes platforms. Come to think of it, doesn’t the lovely Desiree have a pair?

    • I believe Desiree does have a pair! Of those shoes!!

      Tamera  

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  8. Vickie said:

    You look lovely in red! Get more!

    • I’m on the hunt for it!

      Tamera  

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  9. Beryl said:

    Love that Gunne Sax dress. Only thing cuter is that new baby in her red, white, and blue. Until I got to your outfits with such great jewelry. Looking good!

    • Thanks Beryl!

      Tamera  

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  10. No one, not even Richard Simmons, beats Liberace in hot pants! Dandy AND fancy!
    Thanks for linking up on 52 Pick-me-up.
    Hope you had a sparkling 4th!

    • that picture of Liberace just makes me smile!

      Tamera  

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  11. clare said:

    oooh that dress! and those boots are fantastic! I love them! OH Liberace, isn’t he wonderful? Love those hot pants. You look great too, much better to stay cool and have more patriotic accessories, until you can either buy that dress or get a Stars and Stripes sequin leotard. xxxx

    • I could totally live with those boot!! Sequin hotpants-not so much!  

      Tamera  

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  12. Desiree said:

    Oooooooh what a delicious post Tamera! Cheesetastic is the perfect way to describe all of those incredible treasures and I’m head over heels in love with the Statue of Liberty leather bag. Your jewellery, oh so divooooooon as is the Diva-ette of course, in the Diva’s July 4 outfit! xoxoxooxxo

    • Isn’t that purse just AMAZING??

      Tamera  

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  13. Helga said:

    Rock ON, little Diva-ette!!! Looking truly divoon!
    O, Liberace is a dream in that outfit! I could quite see Desiree in that……
    You are looking rather glorious, my sweet! The accessories are pure perfection!
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    • I could totally see Desiree sporting the whole outfit!!

      Tamera  

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

Thanks for visiting!! I love to hear what you're thinking!! I read all of your posts and will try to answer them!