Dazed and Confused….

dazed-and-confused4

Hiya Blogland!! Every got their polyester on??? We’ll be visiting the 70’s again today!!

The movie poster above is from the 1993 move “Dazed and Confused” which followed a group of teenagers on the last day of school in 1976.  The kids in this movie were the same age (junior becoming senior) as I was on that day so this brings back LOTS of memories!

First off- they NAILED the clothing, the sets, the music of that era dead-on. I understand that a great deal of the wardrobe was deadstock. I could relate to driving around with nothing to do. and of course-the pivotal field party was something I was VERY familiar with!

The cast was pretty much unknowns at the time-it feature a very young Matthew McCoughnahey and Ben Affleck.  I love this movie–if you were a teenager in the 70’s you will totally get it!! Here’s some more pix from the movie:

Dig the groovy chair!

Dig the groovy chair!

Ben Affleck!

Ben Affleck!

Dig the clothes!

Dig the clothes!

Matthew McCoughnahey

Matthew McCoughnahey

I’m going to share some images of the clothes we wore. I’m using catalogs from the era as most of us shopped for our stylish threads in such hip places as Sears, Wards, and Penneys-especially if you lived in Podunk Nowhere!!

Shoes-how I wish I had some of these now!!

Shoes-how I wish I had some of these now!!

This stuff looks very familiar!!!

This stuff looks very familiar!!!

I totally rocked a version of the plaid pants, blouse and cropped sweater in 1975~

I totally rocked a version of the plaid pants, blouse and cropped sweater in 1975~

Bodysuits--to wear with you hiphuggers!!

Bodysuits–to wear with you hiphuggers!!

Pantsuits were HUGE in the 70's!!

Pantsuits were HUGE in the 70’s!!

I wore halter tops like this! I remember crocheting vests like this for friends!

I wore halter tops like this! I remember crocheting vests like this for friends! I also had a homemade jeans skirt with embroidery.

On to the outfits! I wore something easy and cool Wednesday as it was hot, sticky and miserable!!

Top & skirt-Thrifted, Bangles-Thrifted, Buttonflowers-MeganMae, shoes-Amerimark

Top & skirt-Thrifted, Bangles-Thrifted, Buttonflowers-MeganMae, shoes-Amerimark

Thursday I decided to join up with Spy Girl for the 52 Pick-me-up Challenge. This week its complementary colors. I chose a variation of one of my favorites-red and green. I tweaked it a bit and wore olive and burgundy. Pardon the flip-flops but I’ve been having some crappy muscle contractions in my feet the past couple of days and these didn’t hurt.

Top-Retail/giftcard, Skirt-Retail/DIY, Bangles-Thrifted, Necklace-???

Top-Retail/giftcard, Skirt-Retail/DIY, Bangles-Thrifted, Necklace-???

 

I’m trying to be creative with our meals. Tonite’s menu was very tropical!! The hubster really enjoyed it.

1.Salad with Kiwi, Strawberries, Blueberries, Celery & Cucumber dressed with Poppyseed dressing 2. Grill Portebella mushrooms with homemade Mango-Pineapple Salsa, Cuban Black Beans and Coconut Brown Rice

1.Salad with Kiwi, Strawberries, Blueberries, Celery & Cucumber dressed with Poppyseed dressing
2. Grill Portabella Mushrooms with homemade Mango-Pineapple Salsa, Cuban Black Beans and Coconut Brown Rice

Here’s are little Diva-ette!! My daughter is visiting Saturday with our grand-Chihuahua Noelle who’s not quite 2 years old!  There is sure to be loads of doggie fun at our house! We plan on taking the girl’s for a walk on the towpath. MrBill can use that time to recuperate!! I’ve been making bandanas for them (matching ones no less-LOL)

Fashionista Supermodel in training!

Fashionista Supermodel in training!

Everyone have a fabulous weekend!! I’ll be back on Sunday with more 70’s awesomeness!!

TTFN

Tamera

 

26 comments
  1. Donna said:

    Good find on the 70’s fashions. Will have to scope out some early 60’s stuff. Like the print on the tan background skirt and the olive and burgundy combo looks good on you. And of course Miss Gracie looks tres chic in her bandana.

    • The 60’s and 80’s flashbacks are on tap later this summer!!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

    • All of the jumpsuits reminded me of you!! so much palazzo panted polyester fabulousness!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  2. Suzanne said:

    All those photos remind me of what my Mom used to wear. So funny to see the now famous actors.

    You always have the best patterns on your skirts.

    I love the bandana and the puppy : ) She looks so relaxed.

    bisous
    Suzanne

    • It’s funny how much of the 70’s fashion has come back under a new name! Seriously–Boho is just 70’s hippy!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  3. Krista said:

    An oldie and a goodie here. I love all the 70’s nostalgia! I have recently scored a leotard that is insane looking. I paired it with some leggings and walked out and asked Chris what he thought he just shook his head and left the room! Gracie is so gorgeous and you are so right her and Peetee are built the same. Can I please come eat dinner at your place? Those two dishes have my mouth watering! Very creative! Don’t you love the sandals right about now? You look summer sun kissed!
    Xxxxxooo

    • Gracie and Peetee have the same eyes!!! I’d love to see you in your leggings and leotard!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  4. Lol! I remember watching that movie when I was a teen. Also that last trio of pictures looks a lot like what I wore in my childhood. I had those tie halter tops, wore bellbottoms as big as I could find. I was obsessed with “hippie” stuff. ;P For awhile at least.

    Love the buttonflowers! It’s always a major surprise to see them crop up on my favorite bloggers. I still need to do something with those ties you sent. I adore the chicken one!! It needs really special treatment. And I think I already know who it’s going to.

    Also green skirt obsession!! How fabulous is that!

    • When I saw the chicken tie I KNEW it had to go to you!!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  5. Flashback! I had a pair of orange suede clogs that I wore to death back then. Yes, that movie got the clothes spot on. I’ll be over tonight for dinner, that food looks delish.

    • They got everything spot-on!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  6. Wow! What a wealth of goodness! Of everything up there, I WANT THOSE SADDLE SHOES! Apologies for yelling. I want the universe to hear me.
    I enjoyed “Dazed and Confused” very much when it came out. I think I’ll be putting it on my Netflix queue for a second look!
    The catalog images are great. SADDLE SHOES…

    Thanks for linking up with 52 Pick-me-up!

    • I had those saddle shoes in 1974!!! I was tres chic back then!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  7. 50 and counting said:

    Uhm, I’m the woman who went to Hawaii in 1977 wearing a rust coloured wool gabardine three piece suit with matching toned polyester shirt with cravat. Wearing 3 inch platform sandals. And a set of matching hard sided luggage.

    Very Charlie’s Angelish..

    Eaton’s catalogue up here in Canada was far trendier than Sears.

    And let’s forget the tartan suit that had a bomber jacket, and wide legged cuffed trousers. Luckily there is no photos fo that one!

    • Oh wow I’d LOVE to see the plaid outfit!! Sounds AWESOME!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  8. These are some of the best fashion shots I’ve seen in awhile. I had a plaid pants suit in the early 70’s, but it was my mother’s idea. All I wanted to wear were my elephant bell jeans and rust-colored suede jacket. THEY were cool!!

    • Don’t you wish you still had those jeans and jacket?? you’d rock them today!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  9. pastcaring said:

    Oh so many memories of 1970s catalogue photos! Love those Granny boots with the maxi dress, of course. I always liked the long-legged Charlie’s Angels trouser suit look, but never had the legs to carry it off… The leotard with the floral print and pussy bow is insane!
    Enjoy your weekend of puppy fun, Tamera, those girls will wear Mr Bill out! xxx

    • Curtise–you look like you could’ve stepped out of those ads in your amazing maxi’s!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  10. Helga said:

    O, I have a copy of “Dazed and Confused”!! It’s an awesome film. Great clothes, great cast!
    I was 10 in 77 (My father took me to Star Wars for my birthday), so was just a too little young, AND too immature to get the best 70’s experiences, but what memories I have are splendid! These catalogue pix are making me DROOL!! the shoes and boots, most especially, are rocking my world!!!
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    • I had just graduated from High SChool when Star Wars debuted and remember standing in line for a couple hours to see it!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  11. vintagefrenchchic said:

    It is comforting to see old fashion catalogs and magazines from the 70s so I can look back on photos of my early childhood and know that my parents weren’t mental (or being cruel) when buying my clothes for me to wear. Very interesting time period in fashion.

    BTW…that “Rescued is My Favorite Breed” sign was either bought at Hobby Lobby or the Christmas Store according to my mom. Why she can’t remember since it was recently bought is beyond me. Hope you can find one! : )

    • I’m gonna go to Hobby or christmas this weekend and look for it-thanks!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  12. clare said:

    she’s just such a sweetie!! I’m so frustrated I can’t go out and buy any of those amazing boots – they’re all stunning! Dinner looks delicious, I’m coming over! xxx

Thanks for visiting!! I love to hear what you're thinking!! I read all of your posts and will try to answer them!

