Shake your Groove Thang…

250px-Disco_ball4

Hiya Blogland!!! Pull out your polyester and platforms!! It’s 70’s week!! We’ll be celebrating the “fashion” and pop culture of the Me Decade!

I graduated from High School in 1977 so the 70’s are near and dear to me! I still love the music and “most’ of the fashion! Let’s jump in the time machine and check it out!

This is what I was wearing in 1976:

Rugby shirt, painters pants, puka shell necklace, earth shoes and rainbow socks. Yeah I was STYLIN'!!!

Rugby shirt, painters pants, puka shell necklace, earth shoes and rainbow socks. Yeah I was STYLIN’!!!!

HUUUUGE bellbottom jeans, Peasent top, Buffalo sandals and tooled leather purse.

HUUUUGE bellbottom jeans, Peasent top, Buffalo sandals and tooled leather purse.

Gauchos, boots, cowl neck and wrap sweater were "dressy' attire. I rocked all of these looks.

Gauchos, boots, cowl neck and wrap sweater were “dressy’ attire. I rocked all of these looks.

Some of the scents of the 70’s. I still wear Charlie and would LOVE to find some Avon Honeysuckle. I also still wear Jungle Gardenia.

Charlie, Honeysuckle, Skinny Dip and the ever creepy ad for Love's Baby Soft.

Charlie, Honeysuckle, Skinny Dip and the ever creepy ad for Love’s Baby Soft. Used them all!

We kept our Farah or Dorothy Hamel do’s shiny with these:

The Beer on Tap stuff was AWFUL. My fav was the Lemon-up.

The Beer on Tap stuff was AWFUL. My fav was the Lemon-up.

And in the spirit of FUN–which the 70’s certainly were-here’s an ad for a program i actually WATCHED. and it was as cheesetastic as it sounds!!

How can you go wrong with this concept and these stars?

How can you go wrong with this concept and these stars?

Oh yeah–and back then you could drink beer and wine at age 18. And that’s how old  my driver’s license said I was(snerk). This was a favorite–99 cents and you could get it at the 7-11!!

The finest in wine-Boone's Farm!!

The finest in wine-Boone’s Farm!!

And on to the outfit part of the post. Sunday afternoon I wore this to go to the grocery store and walk Gracie. Patti of Not Dead Yet Style had a giveaway a few weeks ago for a gift certificate to CafePress. Much to my surprise I won and decided to pay homage to the biggest fashionista I know-The Diva!!! I ruched the sides and glittered her image–one of my favorites of her surrounded by gold lame’.  It garnered loads of wonderful comments. I know she would approve! How appropriate the “Diva-ette in training” makes an appearance in her new bandana! It’s DIVA time!!

002

Monday I had a doctor’s appointment and training so I jumped back into my easy T and skirt combo.

Tshirt-Thrifted, GetHappy Skirt-DIY, Sandals-Amerimark, Bangles-2 old and one gifted by sweet Krista!

Tshirt-Thrifted, GetHappy Skirt-DIY, Sandals-Amerimark, Bangles-2 old and one gifted by sweet Krista!

We are having our first miserable heatwave so today I decided it was time for a maxi and pasty chicken wings!! I so love this pattern–bright, bold and the black at the bottom adds a special touch. Or looks like I drug my skirt through tar! I’m photobombed again–she loves the camera!!

Dres--Retail at huge discount, Bangles-Thrifted, Dog-Adorable!!

Dres–Retail at huge discount, Bangles-Thrifted, Dog-Adorable!!

I wanted to share a picture of our dinner tonite! We are feasting on some of the first bounty from my garden! Fresh zucchini, Rainbow Swiss Chard and lots of herbs!  I’m transitioning to vegan and I try to get Lauren to eat meatless once or twice a week.  He loved this meal! We had sautéed Swiss Chard, Oven-roasted Zucchini and a rag-out of white beans, onion, mushroom and tomatoes-all seasoned with rosemary, thyme, oregano and marjoram from the garden. YUM!!

010

I’m linking up with Janie of Flight Platform Living for the first ever Shiny T Tuesday: When Pattern Seduces!!! I obviously love me some pattern–and todays dress and yesterday’s skirt are proof of that!! stop by and check all the pattern lovers out!!

Well–I’m off to walk Ms. Gracie and do some reading. I’m slowly catching up with everyone’s blogs!! I just haven’t had much time on-line the last few days.

Everyone have a wonderful evening and I’ll be back Thursday with more 70’s fabulosity!!

TTFN

Tamera

35 comments
  1. CC said:

    Cute bird skirt 😀

    I like all your pics of the things you used to use! 😀

    CC x

    • Thanks–the skirt looks just like the Partridge logo for the Partridge Family show-LOL. In fact the fabric is called “Get Happy”–which is also the title of the Partridge Family theme song

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  2. Donna said:

    Love the bird skirt! And your little photo-bomber. I was a young mom with two little ones in 1976 so my attire was slightly different. Do you have any pictures from that era?

    • I’m going to scrounge for a picture –almost everything like yearbooks, pictures, my letter jacket, etc. were stolen by a room mate back in 1979.

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  3. sue said:

    Thanks for a trip down my own memory lane! Puka shells, rainbow sox, honeysuckle and all the rest! The seventies were such a care free time, I wanna go back!!!

    • It’s fun to look back on all of that!1 i’ve got more goodies to share to trip your memory!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  4. Desiree said:

    SO, SO HUNGRY!!!!!! That meal is my idea of heaven on a plate. I’m coming over to lick the plates with the doggies OK? “Gee your hair looks terrific”, I used to see those ads in my sister’s 17 mags in the 70s and I always wanted to try that shampoo. Love the pics you’ve got here, I’m in a time warp now:) xoxoxo

    • Warp on with me!! i’ve got loads of pix to shake our groove thangs!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  5. Far out! I wish I still had my denim gauchos, but they probably wouldn’t fit now. I had Frye boots to wear with them, and 26-inch-long hair. Ahhhh, life was so carefree.

    I love your bird skirt, and the maxi dress that transitions to black and white. That is so cool!

    • How could i forget Frye boots?? I wanted a pair so bad!! I had the granny boots, though!! Did you iron your hair on the ironing board to get it straight??

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  6. Love the diva shirt!!! How cute. Also that bird skirt is amazing. I bet something that awesome would be ridiculously priced on Modcloth or something. Maybe they should pay you ;P Mmm your meal also looks delicious. We’re doing less meat and more vegetables. Also more fish, which is still meat, but healthier.

    • I’m glad summer is here andI can get more fresh veggies–i’m just waiting for the first tomato!! Modcloth is where i got the inspiration somewhat for these skirts!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  7. 50 and counting said:

    Class of 77 here as well.

    I loved the “Love’s Fresh Lemon” cologne.

    Seafarer Jeans. I was so embarrassed that I wore a 28!

    They were good days.

    I was a Starsky girl Never saw the Hutch appeal.

    • I’m with ya on the Starsky vs Hutch–Hutch was too pretty for me!! Love’s Lemon Fresh–loved that too!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  8. Suzanne said:

    So jealous of all the bounty from your garden.

    What a cute idea to have a t-shirt with the Diva on it. A little tribute.

    bisous
    Suzanne

    • Of course I had to glitter it up–the Diva wouldn’t have approved other-wise!! she was all about the sparkle!! Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  9. Cute outfits. We share an attraction to the Seventies. I’m two years older than you so we grew up during the same period.

  10. I see that your as talented at cooking as you are at assembling great outfits. The Diva t-shirt is a wonderful tribute.

    I didn’t get my black and white outfit together in time to join your party, but I did put an ensemble together which was inspired by your gathering of last weekend.

    • Thanks for the support-your black and white ensemble is just STUNNING!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  11. I am more of an 80s love myself, ahhhhhhhhhhhh
    I love your long dress and WANT, WANT that bird skirt, ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    • I love the 80’s, too–that’s for later this summer!!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  12. I gotta say I do love the 80’s vs the 70’s (although That 70’s Show is hilarious). I LOVE your looks and that long maxi dress has a very Mama Cass feel (in the best way! because she’s awesome!!). love it!!!!!!

    • I loved the early 70’s show–they wer DEAD-ON in their clothing and sets!! Mama Cass is a goddess as far as I’m concerned!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  13. so funny 70’s stuff!!, that’s a pretty good resume of 70’s fashion musts!!.
    and you look lovely with your Diva’s t-shirt, so touching, and that Gethappy skirt is one of my favorites of yours, so great print!, also love your maxi, as usual, you look fabulous!
    besos & suerte!

    • Thanks Senora–lot’s more 70’s goodies to come!!! LOL i haven’t even touched on dico clothing!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  14. jhitomi said:

    I graduated high school in 78 so this brought back a lot of memories. Love’s Baby Soft was one of my favorites. Oh, and I still have my puka shell necklace; I think we should bring them back in fashion. But not bell bottoms.

  15. janeggg said:

    love that bird skirt and you look fabulous in that last dress! I’m an 80’s child, it was an amazing time. Thank you so much for linking, it is so wonderful to see your beautiful smile on the flight platform xxxxxxx

    • Thanks Jane!!I have plans for an 80’s fest later this summer!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

    • Thanks!1 I plan on doing an 80’s fest later this summer!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  16. Bobbi said:

    I still wear Charlie, too. I remember the “Gee, Your Hair Smells Teriffic” shampoo…but didn’t think it smaelled that great. I had gauchos. My stepdaughters wore some recently but called them culottes. I didn’t mention how 70s they looked! One of them wore bell-bottoms recently, too.
    I have the strangest urge to listen to Linda Rondstadt….

    • You’re not the only one who thought it it didn’t smell particularly terrific! Today they call bellbottoms “flares”-LOL LOVE Linda Rondstadt–went to her concert in 1978! I’m off to check your blog!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  17. clare said:

    Can I come round for dinner please? You look fabulous in the maxi and the Diva shirt is great too. I love all your 70s stuff, all the clothes were great, my sister was named after the Charlie perfume. I can see Vix and Curtise in those clothes

    • Yup–I could see them in this stuff!! that’s cool you’re sister is named after the perfume!! I’m named after a stupid 50’s movie starring Debbie Reynolds and a Mouseketeer.

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  18. pastcaring said:

    I remember all those 1970s fashions very well – wrap cardigans a la Starsky, wedges, flares, smock tops, cheesecloth… Yes, that was me when I was 13 or 14!
    Love your homemade skirts and the maxi dress, of course. Little Gracie clearly wants to get in on the action, doesn’t she? Such a cutie! xxxx

    • You would fit right in with all of your fab maxi’s!! Gracie is just a little love!! We are seeing flashes of Divaness however!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

Thanks for visiting!! I love to hear what you're thinking!! I read all of your posts and will try to answer them!

