How to feel invisible…..

turtle-outfits-crocheted-hats-500x379Hello Blogland!! I am glad today is my Friday because this week has sucked at work–the computer ate my design drawing just as I was finalizing it for review so I’ve had to semi-start over (I had a proposed sketch saved thankfully!!

I’m going to be spending some time in the gardens this weekend. Even though I covered my plants, the freak late season frost/freeze killed about 8 tomato plants, my basil, my eggplants and my squash. BUMMER!! I’ll be replanting them plus I need to get some scented geraniums to pot up  and pineapple sage.

If you garden and can get it I HIGHLY recommend Pineapple Sage–it’s an annual but makes a shrub!! The leaves are a lime green and smell FANTASTIC–They make a wonderful tea. It gets these dark red spikey flowers in September. I plant it among my perennials and shrubs every year.

I’m glad everyone enjoyed those hunky hairy 70’s dudes!!! Those were the days!! today I’m feeling a bit snarky so I’m sharing ads that just make me laugh!

1. Look- a condom hat!! 2. Cockroach racing??? 3. Prune Party--diapers optional 4. I want this lamp!

1. Look- a condom hat!!
2. Cockroach racing???
3. Prune Party–diapers optional
4. I want this lamp!

1. Oh yeah! 2. The Skipper from Gilligan's Island and orgies?? YUCK 3. Dude looks skeevy to me. 4. For your orgy with the Skipper. Double YUCK!

1. Oh yeah!
2. The Skipper from Gilligan’s Island and orgies?? YUCK
3. Dude looks skeevy to me.
4. For your orgy with the Skipper. Double YUCK!

1. Is that a condom on his head?? 2. Prune party-diapers optional 3. Creepy babies in a plastic bag is just wrong! 4. There's a whole lot of projecting going on here!

1. Is that a condom on his head??
2. Prune party-diapers optional
3. Creepy babies in a plastic bag is just wrong!
4. There’s a whole lot of projecting going on here!

1. I have no words for Butt Bullets 2. Somewhere this is someone's Saturday night date!

1. I have no words for Butt Bullets
2. Somewhere this is someone’s Saturday night date!

1. I must find this movie to watch-it looks trashtastically awesome!! 2. I so need this cookbook for my collection!

1. I must find this movie to watch-it looks trashtastically awesome!!
2. I so need this cookbook for my collection!

I'm gonna print and frame this!

I’m gonna print and frame this!

And now to the invisible portion of our program.  Yesterday’s outfit turned out to be a DUD DUD DUD!! I felt uncomfortable and blah all day. It worked in theory but the dress ( a gauzy fabric) stretched really weird on the top and the armholes were down at my waist by the end of the day. It’s in the donation bag now. Here’s the evidence:

Maxi-Thrifted, Cardigan-Retail,

Maxi-Thrifted, Cardigan-Retail,

Today’s outfit was inspired by the always awesomely cool Reva of  REVASRAGS2ROSES!!  I took one look at this outfit and knew I had to recreate it!!

The amazing Reva!!

The amazing Reva!!

I didn’t have a pink blazer but recently thrifted a bright pink cardigan. What do y’all think??  I got tons of compliments on it and felt funky, comfortable and just so dang COOL!! Thanks Reva for the inspiration! Since my shoes aren’t blingy like hers I pinned a vintage brooch on pants cuff.

Cardigan, Jeans, Top-Thrifted, Shoes & Hat-Retail

Cardigan, Jeans, Top-Thrifted, Shoes & Hat-Retail

Hat-Retail, Bracelets & Earrings-Retail, Pendant-DIY, Pin-Vintage

Hat-Retail, Bracelets & Earrings-Retail, Pendant-DIY, Pin-Vintage

I’ve  got a pile of stuff to prep for some refashioning. I like to seam rip whilst watching TV. So I’m off to watch the American Idol (GO CANDICE!!!) whilst I rip away!! Everyone have a great weekend and I’ll be back Sunday!

TTFN

Tamera

13 comments
  1. fashionovafifty said:

    I love Reva’s outfit too and love your version as well.
    Here in NE its still alittle too early to plant. Must wait till 5/30.

  2. OMG, some of those ads are just wrong. “Massage boy” is making my skin crawl in all the wrong ways and that woman is sure “projecting” (wink wink) all over the place.

  3. 50 and counting said:

    Rectal dilators, sure. It beats the “I was painting the bathroom and fell on a candle, honest” that I’ve heard from more than one male patient. Winter is long, dark, and boring up here.

    You are so lucky to have a job that lets you wear what you want. Creativity every day! I only get wild once a year during nurses week and come in full dress whites and cap. I know, I’m a wild woman.

  4. Bobbi said:

    First – the turtles are so cute!
    I think I need to rpint out the warning about artists, too – so I can smile every time I see it.
    Your Reva-inspired out fit is smashing and really, that hat is awesome.
    I may never be able to watch Gilligan’s Island again…

  5. pastcaring said:

    Oh those ads, how funny!
    What a bugger about losing your work, and some of your plants. Oh well, what can you do about glitches in technology and meteorology? Not a deal..
    Shame about the dress being weird too – it looks pretty enough, but you never know what something is like to wear all day till you try. Bet the weird fabric is why someone donated it in the first place.
    Love your Reva homage, you look so good in that hat!
    Have a great weekend, Tamera! xxxx

  6. I love both of your outfits. You need to wear hats more often that look cool on you!!!! Sorry to hear about the frost taking some victims. I am now on the hunt for pineapple sage. Sounds lovely!
    XXOOO

  7. Vix said:

    You certainly rock a hat! I love your interpretation of Reva’s look and I’m sad that dress was so badly behaved ‘cos it looked fantastic! Who can knit my tortoise a hat like that? I want one! xxxx

  8. Lovely outfit and lovely inspiration, that pink cardi is a winner and love that leopard hat and all that bling!
    And you’ve made me laugh a lot with all that old pics!!, and cute tortoises!
    besos

  9. vintagefrenchchic said:

    Those ads and the turtles cracked me up. Thanks for the smiles!

  10. Terri said:

    I love your take on Reva’s look!

  11. Clare said:

    Wow! Love the leopard print and the bling. That massage guy is the spitting image of my dad in the 70s! Seriously! Xx

Thanks for visiting!! I love to hear what you're thinking!! I read all of your posts and will try to answer them!

