Mildew-print isn’t a good idea

Hello Blogland!! Everyone having a fantastic week?? Or at least one where the crazy level is manageable???

You may have noticed I changed my blog template. The comment button is now up in the left corner by the post title. I’m still tweaking it a bit. I wish WordPress (free version) gave me a bit more freedom. I’m not hip on paying for my own website at this point. If I could figure out how to transfer everything I would move to Blogger/Blogspot. I’ve been “playing” there and it’s far more user-friendly as far as customizing. Anyone got any tips or hints to share??

I absolutely adore Pinterest. It’s like my big digital scrapbook of stuff I like!!  I was pinning some retro kitschy stuff and ran across these lamps. Can you AQUA AWESOMENESS????? I SO want these!!lamps

Are these the grooviest album covers ever?? I would LOVE to hear the album based just on the coolness of the album art!!albums

Of course, I have pinned quite a bit of the freakish and absolutely weird. Here’s a little taste of some classy 70’s era advertising:

Boom-chicka-wow-wow!!!!

Boom-chicka-wow-wow!!!!

Yesterday I wore the Calvin Klein tunic I thrifted over the weekend. I am not keeping it. It occurred to me half-way through the day that the print resembled mildew. Plus it was totally annoying-the front placket had too thick of a stabilizer which made it stiff and it bulged out weird all day. Plus–the sleeves wouldn’t stay rolled up with the tab thing and kept getting caught on stuff. Didn’t love it so in the donation bag it goes!!

002

Todays outfit was built around being comfortable (I’m really “achey” this week) and warm as it will barely get to 60 today and my office is COLD!!!  I have loved this knit maxi since I thrifted it–so comfortable. I’m in shades of grey with the peach top–I like the combo of grey and peach together. This cardigan plays nice with any bright color–it has an interesting pattern.

003

I hope to get the front porch cleaned off and the porch furniture out this weekend. MrBill hopes to spend some quality time turd-hunting and finding some stink to roll in. Everyone have a fabulous weekend and I’ll be back Sunday evening with some sheet couture!!

TTFN

Tamera

16 comments
  1. Oh, Lord, Please save me from the 70’s. More like boom-chicka-no-no. Yeah, that tunic is pretty ugly, are you sure it’s not a Kalvin Clein?

  2. Donna said:

    Totally agree with you on the “mildew” top! It very closely resembles the mold (organic growth) my home inspector husband encounters in attics, crawl spaces, basements and even in the house itself. Loving the blue and coral outfit. Also love all the vintage goodies you find. Have to repin those lamps to my Golden Oldies board.

  3. Suzanne said:

    That ad on with the guy on the rug is hilarious!!! I wonder how many rugs they sold that way?

  4. Ohno! I hate when I realize things like that about prints. Oh well, you gave the top a shot. Maybe someone out there enjoys mildew-esque prints.

    Your printed cardigan is very lovely! I especially love that orange color. I love orange.

  5. I love the advertising from the 1970s – I have never seen anything like the rug ad before. Maybe in the UK things were a bit more restrained? I agree with your philosophy about the mildew patterned top – if it is not working for you then give to someone else. The peach top is lovely with the skirt and cardigan, it really suits you.

  6. Vix said:

    Two fabulous outfits, love the tangerine with the grey and that groovy knit.
    Those lamps are incredible and I’m loving the Tom Jones lookalike smouldering on his rug. What aren’t adverts that fun any more?
    Have a fantastic weekend, dying to see the sheet couture. It’s curtains for me! xxx

  7. Drat. I was all, “That’s a pretty blouse!” until you said “mildew” and then I see mildew instead of pretty top. Double drat.

    You are rockin’ both outfits, but my fave is the one with the maxi skirt. You look classic, chic – and super comfortable!

  8. pastcaring said:

    Ha, I don’t see mildew. I’m not even sure I know what mildew looks like, but surely it’s not like that blouse?! I don’t mind the print or the colours actually, but if it is annoying to wear, then that’s a deal breaker.
    The second look is very elegant, love the orange with grey.
    Beautiful lamps, and Sexy Seventies Man is a hoot, all ready for a romp on his rug! Who wouldn’t want a furry Love Rug?!
    Have a great weekend, sounds as though you will be very busy! xxxx

  9. Mambo for Cats!!, such a funky cover!, and so funny advertisements!
    And love that grey and peach color combo, with the pretty printed cardi, gorgeous!
    wish you find one of that fabulous lamps, they’re really cool!
    besos

  10. Clare said:

    off to track down those albums!! I think Mambo for Cats is a Jim Flora design, he’s amazing! I’m also off to buy a Love Rug, preferably in Jaguar. You look great, more summery than ever, love the mad print top! xxx

  11. 50 and counting said:

    Fellow maxi skirt lover here. I got a compliment last week at the grocery store from a couple of Somali ladies in hijab! They thought I looked very well put together, the shoes picked up the tones of the paisley skirt and coat.

    I tried to respond about NCIS but the demon mailer bounced me back.

    Zeva can’t take anymore losses and Tony? Well, every woman he cares about dies. The traditional curse of cop show girlfriends. Even back to the days of Adam – 12. The cop gets a girlfriend and she’s dead by the end of the season.

  12. vintagefrenchchic said:

    Omg…that love rug ad is hilarious. And creepy. But the lamps are to die for–LOVE!

  13. Thanks for every other fantastic post. Where else may just anybody get that kind of information
    in such an ideal method of writing? I have a presentation next week,
    and I’m at the look for such information.

  14. If you are going for best contents like me, only go to
    see this web page all the time as it gives quality contents, thanks

  15. I really like it when folks come together and share views.
    Great site, stick with it!

Thanks for visiting!! I love to hear what you're thinking!! I read all of your posts and will try to answer them!

