Her heart is broken…..

P1010570

………and it can’t be fixed.  I don’t even know where to begin. I’ve been crying since last night.

Our little Diva is very, very ill.  Towards the end of the past week she seemed a bit less “perky”  than usual and was holding her neck funny. She has a bit of arthritis in her neck so we thought maybe it was bothering her. She was still eating and pottying normally.

Last night she took a significant turn for the worse. We both got little sleep–her panting and trembling and me worrying. She felt like she had a fever and this morning her piddle on the pad was a bit darker than normal. I thought she might have a urinary track infection.

So I called the Emergency Vet and rushed her in. They took one look at her and grabbed her from my arms and rushed her into the back. They immediately put her on oxygen.

After an exam and x-rays the vet called me into a room to give me the news.  Our KaeKae has Congestive Heart Failure. The x-rays show how enlarged her heart is–its pressing on her windpipe making it difficult to breathe. Her liver is also enlarged due to the diminished function of her heart.

Dr. Kelly-who’s an absolute sweetheart, said we can’t fix this but we can manage it. They had given her some medicine and she was already doing much better.  She will have to be on medicine twice daily from now on.  No exertion–she’s to be carried as much as possible. THIS she is going to LOVE!!

I asked the vet the question I didn’t want to know the answer to.  “How long???” If she keeps responding to the medicine she could have 6 months to 1  year or more. Even if she responds initially–at some point it will no longer work. Dr. Kelly said we will think positively and cross that bridge when we come to it. We have to follow-up with our regular vet this week.

They had to take her dress off for the x-ray and the tech said she grumbled a bit–always the diva!! They’ve given her a mild sedative so she’s pretty mellowed out now–sleeping on her pillow with MrBill next to me. I’m worried about how he is going to take all of this.

Between the tears I am angry. Angry at the puppymill jerk who abused her so. The vet said her little heart was damaged from having so many litters of puppies with no care. It’s literally worn out.  Angry that I can’t fix her. Angry that she is dying.

I’ll be lurking around this next week but may not be posting or commenting. I need to get my head around this and take care of her. I’m cooking her up some chicken livers to mash. I intend to go into spoiling overdrive.

We were planning a huge 11th Birthday Extravaganza next month for her. I’m thinking I’m going to move the date up–I’ll let everyone know.

Please keep us in your thoughts and prayers.  I’m going to link up with Visible Monday to let her many (and believe me she has them) fans know what’s going on.

Thanks–love you all!

Tamera

 

 

 

38 comments
  1. peggy said:

    tamera, im so sorry hear about ms. diva….as a pet parent i feel for you….hoping you have her around for a long time

  2. Desiree said:

    My darling friend, I’m so sorry to hear our heroine The Diva has taken a turn for the worse. I too feel so angry at the puppy farmers who relentlessly used her to make money for themselves. Do they know what they have done to her? Maybe they need to see her x-rays and the report on her health. Only the love and care from you, Mr Bill and your vet will help her through, but letting those crims know what they’ve done may ease some of your fury. I’m thinking of you my lovely, big hugs to you. Desiree xoxo

  3. Beryl said:

    Oh Tamera, how awful. Poor sweet little thing. Mashed chicken livers should perk her up for a bit – does her Divaness like a little bacon with them?. She may have had a rough start, but remember that now she has you and nothing could be better.

  4. Clare said:

    Darling! I’m nearly in tears, this is so sad, but you’re the best person to look after her. I’m so sorry I still haven’t sent out your parcel, I was going to but it would cost £20 with the boots, so I re-jigged it and added some more presents. I will definitely send it out tomorrow for you. I hope one of the things I’ve included will make you smile a little. Lots of hugs to you and The Diva! xxxxxxxx

  5. Krista said:

    I can’t stop crying:( I’m so sorry Tamera I can’t even find the words. Peetee and I will have you all in our prayers.
    Lots of love
    Xxxxoooo

  6. Kim said:

    Dear Tamera, concentrate on this tidbit of info… “If she keeps responding to the medicine she could have 6 months to 1 year or MORE.”

    Many prayers and white light are being sent to your precious Diva and her worried family. ((((HUGE HEALING HUGS)))

  7. Vix said:

    I’m reading with tears running down my cheeks. The Diva has become as much a part of my life as you have and I’m so sad. Sending lots of love and positive vibes and hoping she responds to the treatment. Thank goodness she was rescued by you and that her life has been filled with so much love. xxxxxx

  8. Donna said:

    My heart is broken for both you and the Diva. Horrible, horrible people who think only of the money they can make off defenseless animals; I fully understand your anger. I’m holding her “younger” suitors, Jacob and Riley, right now and I can’t imagine being without them. Praying that the meds give her some relief and you have lots of time to carry her around and pamper her. We send our best to Mr. Bill too.

  9. My thoughts are with you, my dear friend. A broken heart of having given so many lives to the world…

  10. Helga said:

    NO NO NO, O, our darling little Diva. I’m so sad, and I am sending all ALL of the love I can muster.
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

  11. DebW said:

    So very sorry! As a pet mamma, I know what you are going through. We’ve lost some fine pets over the years. It is devastating! One thing to focus on, though, is the love and care you’ve given her and all that meant! You saved her life and gave her a life back. A life of safety, comfort, love, and attention. And pretty dresses! Bless you! Hugs from MN to Maryland!

  12. vintagefrenchchic said:

    I am so sorry to hear this about the little Diva. She is so fortunate to have such a loving, caring mom. You know how I was this past Fall with Rockefeller’s accident…so the pain and anger you feel is not hard to imagine at all. I will be thinking of you and hoping for the very best outcome. xoxo

  13. 50 and counting said:

    I am so sorry. Wondercollie sends snout licks and tail sniffs.

    Our furries are with us for a short enough time as it is without their health being damaged through no fault of theirs.

    Love her, cuddle her, enjoy the rest of her life. Make every day a celebration!

  14. what sad news. She’s one lucky pup to have found you and to have had many more years. My beloved kitties were also recused and I don’t even what to think what their fate would have been. Hang in there and my thoughts are with you.

  15. OMG I’m so sorry to hear about this devestating news.
    You poor things.
    It must be hard to keep keeping on.
    I am keeping you and the diva in my thoughts and hope all goes as well as it can.
    Thank goodness she was rescued by you so has had a wonderful and luxurious and glamorous existence with you! I can imagine the overdrive spoiling that’s going on!
    Kia Kaha as we say down here (have strength)
    x

  16. I am devastated to read this – the Diva has become precious to me as well as to all your readers I am sure. She will be well-loved and pampered for the rest of her days, and she’ll continue to give you love I am sure. You are in my thoughts, dearest Tamera.

  17. I’m so sorry, Tamera. I know how much you love her. I wish there was something I could do to make it better. Enjoy each moment you have.

  18. Lots and lots of prayers and hugs and even more hugs. Remember, Tamera, you’ve given her a home filled with love, pretty dresses, and spoiling. She may have had a rough start, but you’ve given her the one thing she really deserves – a loving home. She knows what it is to be loved and taken care of, and her final days will not be in abuse, but with a family who is going to be with her every step of the way.

    Our little furry friends have such short lives, often shorter than they deserve, but we give them every thing we can to make their lives the best possible ones while we have them.

    My inlaws dog is in a very similar place. They haven’t reached the point where they are prepared to let him go, but he is functioning and continues to spend his days happy and relatively pain free. We all give him as much attention as possible.

    I am so sorry to hear she’s doing poorly and only wish her the best in her remaining days, however long or short they be. Here’s to many good days for her and you.

    If it helps any, my five derpy rescued cats send you and the Diva their love: http://meganmaedaily.tumblr.com/post/47400268847/my-derptacular-cats

  19. ann said:

    I so sorry to her the diva is doing to poorly 😦
    I will kept you all in my prayers .
    I know how you feel, I too have a little furball that I love dearly and I almost lost him a few years ago. It hurts like hell to think that they may not be with us any longer.

  20. Sheila said:

    Oh, hon, I am so sorry to hear about our poor little diva! It is so hard that our fur-family doesn’t live as long as we do. My thoughts are with you – please spoil the HELL out of her and give her all the love I know you have. Vizzini sends his snuggles.

  21. pastcaring said:

    Oh Tamera, I am so so sorry to hear this terrible news. Our poor little Diva… Spoil her tons, make the rest of her days as happy and comfortable as possible. One of my old cats had Congestive Heart Failure too, which we managed for a short while.
    Give her an extra cuddle and fuss from me, and a big hug for you too. xxx

  22. I am so so sad to hear of your sick little doggie. I had to visit after seeing the photo posted on Visible Monday. I know how difficult a sick pet can be. It is simply heart wrenching.
    I hope that she continues to do well on her meds.
    Sending good thoughts your way.

    bisous
    Suzanne

  23. Tamera, I am so sorry. I know how it feels to lose a furry creature. My prayers are with you. Stay strong. xo

    • and I loved reading how she didn’t like having her dress taken off. How precious is that? Give her a kiss for me.

  24. Oh I am so sorry to read your post and learn that the Diva is not well. I am sending lots of hugs to you both.

  25. dear lady, I’m so sorry and sad for your little Diva!!, I would like to send you all my support and lots of love!!
    besos & abrazos

  26. Bobbi said:

    I’m hugging you in my heart and sending so much love.

  27. Ooh no! My heart is hurting for you and Ms Diva…..sending you prayers & cyber hugs!

  28. tralala said:

    Hope your doggie is feeling much, much better today.
    You take care of yourself too OK? xxxx

  29. pao said:

    Oh my, what terrible news, Tamera. She still looks like the Diva we all know. It’s too sad to even talk about. But we all know you will give her everything and more that she needs. What a sweetie pie. Blessings all around. xoxoxo

  30. angie said:

    So sorry this happened to your dog.It’s alays so hard when you are faced with the end of something or someone.I hope you will find the strenth to cope and maybe things go so well you forgot this ever happened.

  31. Michelle said:

    Tamera:

    So sorry about your beautiful dog. You obviously love her a great deal and will do your best to care for her and let her know that you love her each and every day. She is lucky to have such a devoted care-giver. I just went through something similar with my best canine buddy of 14 years. My thoughts are with you.

  32. Tani said:

    All the best for her!!! It made me so sad reading this text. I hope she will recover and have yet some more years filled with joy and health. Kisses to this little beauty!!! xx

  33. What a heartbreak, dear Tamera. I’m sorry to hear this- but I am so happy for the Diva for having found you before her time came, and that she got to live some fabulous part of her life, knowing she was treasured and loved! This doesn’t undo the horror of her puppymill treatment, but I know there are creatures out there that have never been blessed to be held in loving arms. I am so thankful that your Diva has been blessed to be held loving arms, however heartbreaking it is to hold her in her last days. Hugs to you. Love to the Diva.

  34. Oh, no. I’m sick for you, and send you both so much love and empathy. I am with Bella when she acknowledges all that you have been (and will be) to each other. I know you’ll take care of her and do everything you can to keep her happy.
    I have to tell you that our vet diagnosed my big gray mare with cancer and told us she had months only to live … and that was 5 years ago, and she shows no sign of going down hill. There is always hope, and you will know when all there is left is love. I hope it’s decades away.
    Hugs to you both and every bit of good wishing I can muster!

  35. stylecrone said:

    Tamera, so sorry to hear about Diva and the sadness that I know that you feel right now. My thoughts are with you during this painful time.

  36. oh no!! your picture of your cute diva on visible monday made me laugh and so i followed the link as a newbie to your blog, only then to read such sad news! oh honey, my dog is nearly 9 and i adore her, i know how you feel! big hugs, i will be following along with love and hugs a plenty. xxxxx

Thanks for visiting!! I love to hear what you're thinking!! I read all of your posts and will try to answer them!

