April Fools and Fish

Hello Blogland!!!! how is everyone this fine first day of April?? This will be a short post-I wanted to share some WEIRD  April’s Fool cards with everyone and do a style comparison.

First up-the weird.  I was researching vintage April Fool’s Day cards and noticed that almost all were a)French and b) involved fish.  I couldn’t wrap my head around fish=April Fools so a quick trip to Wikipedia solved the problem.

From Wikipedia:

In Italy, France and Belgium, children and adults traditionally tack paper fishes on each other’s back as a trick and shout “April fish!” in their local languages (pesce d’aprile!, poisson d’avril! and aprilvis! in Italian, French and Dutch , respectively). Such fish feature prominently on many French late 19th to early 20th century April Fools’ Day postcards.

The April 1 tradition in France, Romandy and French-speaking Canada includes poisson d’avril (literally “April’s fish”), attempting to attach a paper fish to the victim’s back without being noticed. This is also widespread in other nations, such as Italy, where the term Pesce d’aprile (literally “April’s fish”) is also used to refer to any jokes done during the day. This custom also exists in certain areas of Belgium, including the province of Antwerp. The Flemish tradition is for children to lock out their parents or teachers, only letting them in if they promise to bring treats the same evening or the next day.

PicMonkey Collage3

PicMonkey Collage2

PicMonkey Collage1

I was going back through my archives and just wanted to post a side by side comparison of what I wore Easter 2012 and what I wore Easter 2013.

Easter 2012. I'm maybe 25 = lbs heavier with darker, longer hair. Bright but still conventional.

Easter 2012. I’m maybe 25 = lbs heavier with darker, longer hair.

Easter 2013

Easter 2013

 Wow what a difference a year of blogging and visiting everyone’s FABULOUS blogs and all of your encouragement and inspiration has achieved!!

I am so shortening any skirt that isn’t a full-on maxi skirt this week!!

Have a great evening and I’ll be back tomorrow!!

TTFN

Tamera

10 comments
  1. Kathy Webber said:

    Your look gorgeous!

  2. Lol! April Fish! what a bizarre concept.

    Love your past and your recent look. Both have a bright smile, a fabulous color palette, and a good confidence. I love your fabulous printed dress.

  3. You look so gorgeous Tamera rocking that new bad ass hair! And that frock of yours I had to zoom in on the print is crazy good and with that green bag you have all kinds of sass!
    XXOO

  4. I love your weird cards. You have nice legs, It took me awhile to realize I could show my knees and the world wouldn’t end. Go for it!

  5. Vix said:

    You just keep getting more and more gorgeous! Love that new dress so much!
    I remember the April Fish from school! xxxx

  6. Hmmmm, I’m wondering if this is how “Kick Me” signs originated. Also, I’m going to be mumbling “April fish” all day, what a cool thing to say.

    Tamera, you are always beautiful, but I do like the chic haircut and the bold print on your dress. And yes ma’am, you should show off those lovely gams.

  7. Helga said:

    That’s rather fascinating! Loads of traditions started way different than we know them today, and every country has it’s own twist!
    I love the differences!
    O, you look mega hot this Easter!!! XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

  8. Clare said:

    Those fish postcards are just amazing, I didn’t know about pouisson d’Avril! You look great last year but this year you’re smokin’!!

  9. DebW said:

    Your hair is awesome, as is your beautiful dress and purse! I’m glad I found your blog. Considering letting my hair go gray, too. If it turned out anything like yours, I would do it! I can see a huge, positive change from last year!

Thanks for visiting!! I love to hear what you're thinking!! I read all of your posts and will try to answer them!

