Come on get Happy!!!

Hello Blogland!! I hope everyone is having a fabulous weekend!! The weather is wonderful here!!! I’ve not been anywhere near the computer since Thursday nite. Got lot’s of sewing done and weeded a bit outside.

If anyone received a spammy looking email from me this weekend–my email was hacked. I’ve taken care of it and sorry if it annoyed you. Evidently I was emailing from Thailand…hmmmmm!!

The CD Launch Party was amazing!!! A wonderful crowd came out to support Pastora Ronette.We got to also here some sneak peeks from the NEXT album–it’s going to be fabulous!! Got loads of compliments on my cupcakes. Evidently I missed my calling-LOL!!

Pastora Ronette is beautiful inside and out. This album was born out of the last couple of years struggle for her and her husband, Curtis. They had been going through fertility treatments, and just at the time it looked like everything was falling in place, their lives were thrown into chaos.

Curtis had gastric by-pass surgery several years ago. He developed a blockage and almost dies–in fact–he technically did “die” and was medi-evaced via helicopter to a larger trauma center. While they were operating they found a tumor on his pancreas.

Curtis was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer (it is a miracle that they found it) and went through chemo and radiation over the past year. It was quite a shock to them. But through it all their faith grew and they were able to minister to so many other hurting people. And today Curtis is doing FABULOUS!!!

Pastora rocking it out!!!

Pastora rocking it out!!!

I was dressed in my “Hostess/Catering Outfit. I needed something comfortable and would work under my black apron. (I look oh so professional-snerk)

001Vest, top & shoes-Thrifted, Jeans-Retail

Since we couldn’t get into the venue until 4:00pm to set up, I did a bit of thrift shopping at the Mission. I came away with a nice selection of goodies!

1. Lime Green never-worn sandals for $22. Turquoise purse for $2

1. Lime Green never-worn sandals for $2
2. Turquoise purse for $2

"1.

Part of my sew-a-thon this weekend was making some skirts. I love being able to have something unique and colorful. Today’s skirt was definitely that. I had compliments on it everywhere I went. Do you all remember the 70’s TV show “The Partridge Family”???partridge_family_cast

My skirt fabric was definitely inspired by their logo!  In fact, the name of the fabric is “Get Happy!!” It certainly made me happy wearing it!partridge

Skirt-DIY by me, Top, belt, Boots-Thrifted, Necklace & bracelet-Gift

Skirt-DIY by me, Top, belt, Boots-Thrifted, Necklace & bracelet-Gift

I’m off to paint my toenails (first time since winter) a nice Spring Green, catch up with everyone,  and do some more sewing!!! I’ll be hooking up with Patti for Visible Monday!! and Lakota for Tah-DAh Tuesday!!

I’ll leave you with the lyrics to Get Happy by The Partridge Family!!

Hello, world, here the song that we’re singin’ C’mon get happy! A whole lot of lovin’ is what we’ll be bringin’ We’ll make you happy!

We had a dream, we’d go travelin’ together, We’d spread a little lovin’ then we’d keep movin’ on. Somethin’ always happens whenever we’re together We get a happy feelin’ when we’re singing a song.

Trav’lin’ along there’s a song that we’re singin’ C’mon get happy! A Whole lot of lovin’ is what we’ll be bringin’ We’ll make you happy! We’ll make you happy! We’ll make you happy!

GET HAPPY!!!!

TTFN

Tamera

24 comments
  1. Lisa Cobb said:

    Love the 2nd outfit ! That bird skirt is adorable and Im loving the bright colors.

  2. debbiebakerburns said:

    Love the pattern on the skirt! Debbie @ ilovemylemonadelife.com

  3. Tamera, The skirt is so cute and you said it right, HAPPY!!!! Your new purse (which I love) would look great with it.

  4. love your new skirt with all that funny colorful birds, and the name of the fabric really makes me smile!!, and you look gorgeous wearing all that pretty colors!
    besos & risas

  5. Cheryl said:

    Love the skirt!

  6. As a matter of fact, I did get “your” spam a short while ago. I opened it up and thought, “Now why did she send that to me (and whoever else was listed as a recipient)”? Then of course I realized it had to be spam.. Nice. Glad it wasn’t a virus, though. Your skirt is the BEST!! I love it with the turquoise top and I’m sure it looks equally fab with black. Wish I had one of those cupcakes RIGHT NOW!!! My sweet tooth would be very happy. XXOO

  7. Love those lime sandals. You bird skirt rocks! Man, I try not to do any sewing on the weekends…..it what I do all week at work. haha. Happy to hear your friends husband is doing well, cancer sucks.

  8. Oh that skirt is the best, Tamera. It’s making me happy all over, and the song is in my head too : > Thanks for sharing all the joy with Visible Monday.

  9. The bird print is so much fun and completely fits your joyful countenance!! have a great week, Tamera!

  10. Suuuper jealous of your new sandals, what an awesome shade! The new bag is also fabulous. And the DIY skirt is really cute too. Lots of happy making going on in your world!

  11. Lol! I used to watch that show religiously!
    How cute is your skirt?!! My daughter would have loved your B&R outfit….go Dawgs! 😉

  12. So much to be happy about here! Talent, faith, miracles, cupcakes, thrifted treasures, and David Cassidy. OK, you didn’t actually single out David. But I’m sure you meant to. He sure made me happy when I was younger and had a huge crush on him!

  13. Cathy Mallory said:

    I noticed the Holly Hobby sheet! I remember having those on my bed when I was a girl. My sister and I had the adorable tea set and baby stroller. And I loved my HH blouse. I cried when I out grew it 😦 Of course, it was passed down to my little sister.

    Anyway, I enjoy your blog…and love your clothing style. I found your blog through Sylvia’s 40+ blog. I find your thrift finds something I would purchase myself..keep up the great work! I look forward to your postings.

    Take care and God Bless,

    Cathy J. Mallory

  14. Desiree said:

    How could I forget the Partridge Family and their lovely birdies? I’m ready to pop right over and snaffle that skirt out of your wardrobe pronto – it’s gorgeous and looks fantastic on you!!!!!!!! Wow what an ordeal Curtis and Pastora have been through and they came out the other side to inspire others. I needed to hear that story, thank you for sharing it here lovely friend:) xoxoxoxoxoox

  15. Vix said:

    That skirt rocks! It makes me happy just looking at it. The bright jewellery you’ve worn it with is so gorgeous, too.
    I got a funny email off you, too. Blasted spammers! xxxx

  16. Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh your chicken skirt, ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
    You kill me everytime, ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
    Love, love, love
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

  17. I love your Partridge skirt- it does make me happy! And you got some GREAT scores- those sandals are lime-tastic!

  18. pao said:

    That skirt! It’s made for you – literally! How can you not be happy just looking at it. So I guess we both do sewing marathons now. Don’t you love whipping up a little something something and then wearing it?! But you can cook/ bake too. mmmm cupcakes… Such a story about your friends. amen to that.

  19. Hope your week is as happy as you look here! Pretty skirt, especially. And really, you can’t go wrong with red and black classics. What, no puppy bomb? Drat.

  20. pastcaring said:

    Yes, I got the email!
    Your birdy skirt is fabulous, you can’t be anything other than happy, looking at that print! Of course you got lots of compliments on it – it’s wonderful, and so are you! xxxx

  21. Clare said:

    I want to try some of these famous cupcakes! The skirt is beautiful, I love the birdy print. I also really love those bright lime sandals and the bag too!

  22. Best skirt I have ever seen!!! OMG I LOVE the gorgeous fabric SO MUCH!!! Big hugs, Tamera! Sarah xxx

Thanks for visiting!! I love to hear what you're thinking!! I read all of your posts and will try to answer them!

