Rainbow Brite does Neutrals

Hello Blogland!! I hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend!! It’s gotten rather chilly here and we may possibly have out first SNOW later this week!!

Sheila of Ephemera has been doing the 30 for 30 challenge this past year. This month’s capsule is Neutrals. I decided to play along with a mini-capsule challenge of all neutrals for one week.

Imagine-me,rainbow brite, wearing nothing but neutrals. I’m including only neutral accessories!!! Even when I wear neutrals I always punch it up SOMEWHERE with bright colors.

Here’s a sneak peak of what my choices are:

1. Skirts
2. Pants
3. Tops
4. Cardigans & Jackets

I’ve noticed a majority of my “neutral” wardrobe is black-based.  Which actually made it fairly easy to put together six outfits.

 Here’s what I wore running errands on Friday. The thrifts were a total BUST except for a sweater for the hubster and a purse. The leopard fedora garnered lot’s of compliments!  I really need to find a nice plain black wool one and maybe s bright red!!

Jacket-Levi’s and about 15 years old!, Jeans-Lee Rider via Walmart, Clogs-Earth Shoes via Walmart, Top-CRDaniels via Goodwill, Purse via Goodwill, Hat via Kmart

Today I wore Neutral-rama outfit #1 to church.  It worked ok but I felt like it needed something RED to brighten it up!

Vest-Thrifted, Top-Goodwill, Crepe Pleated Maxiskirt-SagHarbor via Goodwill, Boots via Burlington Coat Factory, Belt via Thrift

Here’s a close-up of the purse. It’s by Cabin Creek and it was $3 at the Goodwill. I love the embossed paisley pattern on the leather.  Here’s also a close-up of the vintage earrings I converted to pierced.

I’m going to be linking up with the always fabulous Patti for Visible Monday and with the gals at Monday Mingle this week!

I’m off to work on stuffing a santa and a cow. Stop by tomorrow for Makeover Monday:Plaid Mania Edition!!

Have a wonderful evening!

TTFN

Tamera

PS–I have no idea why the font got tiny or how to fix it. computer gremlins I guess!!

17 comments
  1. Rachel said:

    both great outfits, i love that gingham shirt in the jeans outfit! ive been looking for a shirt like that for ages! xx

  2. I am shocked that you are going neutral, Tamera! : > And you look great in both outfits, love the fedora and the new earrings. Thanks for sharing with Visible Monday.

  3. Don’t you love it when the gremlins go on a rampage?!! I can’t keep them under control, that’s for sure. I LOVE!!!! your leopard print blouse with the rest of the outfit. It makes such a great statement, and because of that, I didn’t miss the brights! Plus, with your smile, who needs them?! The leopard hat is a winner also. Maybe I’m just a little bit obsessed with leopard? But hey, am I right or am I right?

  4. ann said:

    red is a neutral and so are many other brights, Not just the dark colors. LOL
    Either way you look great in it all.

  5. Love that leopard!!! Someone day I will do one of these challenges…I think they would just frustrate me…but when I look at what I wear day to day, I am kind of doing it already. Have fun!

  6. I love neutrals! What a fun challenge!
    Great hat, btw! I wish I could wear hats….I look goofy!

  7. Your first neutral look is perfect! I don’t think every look needs a pop. It lets the print be the star of the show. Speaking of print, love the hat! I agree you should find one in red. I love my red hat.

  8. Vix said:

    Neutrals? Argh! You’re a brave woman but you’re pulling them off fabulously. Love you in that trilby. I’m kicking myself, I sold a red angora one at the last vintage fair, I shall keep my eyes peeled! x

  9. Good of you, yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhh
    Have a GRAND WEEK.
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

  10. pastcaring said:

    Well, if you are going neutral, make sure you include a bit of sexy leopard print, I say! That hat is fabulous, makes me want to wear mine. In fact, I think I will!
    How does Santa feel about you stuffing him? xxxx

  11. It’s so funny — even when I think I AM wearing color, I sometimes realize with a shock that I’m basically neutral. Too bad we don’t work together — it would be an interesting exercise in contrasts! Not surprisingly, though, you look great in the neutrals, too. (But isn’t it wonderful that “neutrals” include animal prints? No need to be blah!)

  12. Judy said:

    I absolutely love your style, your smile, and your blog.

  13. Those challenges are great because they force organization. But wait. You are the Queen of organization if I remember correctly. 🙂 I love neutrals myself. My closet is mostly neutral but blogging has forced color in my life when I needed it most. What a great bag for $3!!! You know I love every animal you are wearing. 🙂

  14. Tamera, you are such a beautiful woman. Your smile lights up your blog and I am sure any room you are in. It is a joy to read your posts as you are always so positive. I love your leopard in your neutral outfits.

  15. I would be honoured with your recreations, yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhh
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

  16. Melanie said:

    Stuffing a santa and a cow? LOL. What’s that saying? You can take a girl out of red but you can’t take red out of the girl… I don’t know. I like your colours but you do a mean neutral too. Fantastic fedora!

Thanks for visiting!! I love to hear what you're thinking!! I read all of your posts and will try to answer them!

