Hopin’ I don’t blow away!!

Hello Blogland!!  We are deep in getting prepared for Hurricane Sandy here in Western Maryland!!! I’m away from the coast but we are going to get TONS of rain and sustained tropical storm winds (30-40mph) for hours with gusts up to 70mph. I’ve put anything outside that could potentially fly in this wind away. We’ve got water, batteries and chips ready. I’ve been looking at the neighbor behind me and all the lovely crap on his deck and in his yard that will be in mine most likely after this is over.

I broke out one of my newly thrifted $1 maxi skirts today!  Actually this outfit was what I intended to wear to church but I’ve had some sort of intestinal thing going on (TMI!!) and was loath to leave the house and the proximity of the porcelain altar for too long. I decided to trial run the outfit and take pix anyway. I decided to pair it with my black graphic floral cardigan, aka the cow sweater!!

skirt-Salvation Army, Sweater-Goodwill, Blouse-Dressbarn, Belt-Thrifted, Boots-Burlington Coat Factory, Purse-Thrifted

I pulled out some red to pop the outfit. The cherry necklace I “made” from stuff I got at Hobby Lobby. They have a line in the jewelry making dept. that has components categorized by the decade they were popular in. They have retro inspired stuff by 20’s/30’s, 40’s/50’s, 60’s, 70’s, 80’s, & 90’s. the cherry pendant was from the 40’s/50’s section. It was love at first sight. I added a chain and Wah-Lah–cute retro bling for under $5!!!  I’m eyeing up the other era’s, too for inspiration! The earrings are vintage clip-ons I converted to pierced.

I’m going to be hooking up with Patti for Visible Monday and with the gals for Monday Mingle.

I’m not sure if there will be a Makeover Monday post as we may not have electricity at the height of the storm. I’m off to stare at weather maps and geek out. (I am a total weather weenie and spend far too much time on weather forums!!) Everyone who’s in the path of Sandy-be safe!! and for those on the west coast impacted by the earthquake in Canada–hope everything is well with you!!

TTFN

Tamera

 

 

11 comments
  1. Vix said:

    Oh dear, hope you manage to put an end to your relationship with the porcelain throne soon. That’s no fun. The weather sounds scary, has the neighbour actually got anything good in his yard that you’d be happy to rehouse, or is it just crap? Stay safe! Love the dogtooth skirt! xxx

  2. Helga said:

    Loving that cardi,and the cherries! Ha, I’m resisting a smutty comment there….
    Worship at the prcelain altar is just as valid as a wooden one,darl! Glad you gave the oputfit a test run, hope the skirt wasn’t too tight for a run to the bathroom!
    XXX

  3. pastcaring said:

    Oh no, you poor thing, not more poorliness?! That’s bad news, hope you feel much better soon. The good news is that you look great, love you in green! Please stay safe! xxxx

  4. Love the cardigan and the lovely red accessories. Hope you are all ok with the storm – please keep us posted! Sarah xxx

  5. Love the graphic print with the green. Hope you’re staying as safe as possible. I think all we’re getting is wind, but I’m still tracking the weather anyway. Hope you’re feeling better soon.

  6. Fabulous outfit!! Sorry you’re under the weather. We’re okay here, but I’ll be checking on my parents. Hope this storm doesn’t live up to the predictions.

  7. Beryl said:

    Good luck getting through the storm. I never heard of weather forums, but weather was never this exciting in Seattle. I might try to find a Tulsa group.

  8. vintagefrenchchic said:

    I am thinking about you…stay safe, luv!

  9. Hope you don’t get too much Sandy! I love the checked skirt next to the graphic cardi. Thanks so much for sharing with Visible Monday, and feel better very soon : >

  10. Perfect clash of patterns, and you are wearing a skirt, YEAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

  11. Awesome pattern mixing with the “cow” sweater and the patern on your maxi, (is it checks?). Love that you belted the green blouse underneath and added cherry bling.
    Hope you’re doing o.k. in the weather. I think the worst is over for us. It was basically just heavy rain.

Thanks for visiting!! I love to hear what you're thinking!! I read all of your posts and will try to answer them!

