Yippee-ki-yay I’m a bit western!

Hello Blogland!!! How is everyone’s weekend going?? It has been an absolutely gorgeous one here in western Maryland!

Saturday the hubster went with me to town to pick up my sewing machine. It was only in the shop but oh how I missed it!!!! LOLOL!!! I got him to stop at the Goodwill to look around. He wound up buying two Izod vneck pullover sweaters for himself.  I’m usually the one who thrifts for him and he seemed to enjoy scavenging the racks for himself. I got some goodies which will be showing up in the next couple of weeks.

I had been searching for some black pinstripe and brown trousers. I have a tough time fitting pants as I am very short-waisted but my legs are really long. So petites just don’t work at all. It’s frustrating finding a pair that the crotch isn’t to my knees when the waist is in the proper place-or the waist isn’t under my armpits so the crotch is in the right place!

I found both the pinstripe and the brown at the Goodwill-nice fabrics, classic style. AND the waist was in my pits. I then had a brainstorm or brainfart or such. Why not cut the waistband off, remove the zipper and make them elastic waisted? It’s not like I’m ever going to tuck my shirts in. For $2 per pair I figured I had nothing to lose!

Just finished up the brown pair and it WORKED!!! They now fit perfectly!!! I’m going to wear them to work on monday so watch for the photo. This has opened up a whole new world–won’t work with jeans but with trousers it’s really easy. Plus if they are a bit big I can alter them after taking off the waistband.

The other big excitement is the craft store Hobby Lobby opened this week in town. It’s conveniently next door to the Lowes hardware superstore so I went to Hobby Lobby and hubster went to stare at tools at Lowes.

NIRVANA!!! I had been in one in Ohio years ago. They carry fabric and oh my so much STUFF!! Michael’s Crafts and ACMoore crafts won’t be seeing too  much of me anymore! Like I NEED more stuff or projects.  The only thing I brought was a cute 40’s repro cherry pendant. I was a bit overwhelmed at all the choices!

First up is adorable pet photo’s. MrBill ran and hid when he saw the camera! Divalicious posed to show off her hoodie outfit. I even was able to get a picture of the cat Callie-kins before she decided to fight me for my chair.

Supposedly western themed clothes are on-trend this fall. Unintentionally I wound up with a western-ish outfit. I had been looking for a long denim dress. I thrifted one that had an empire waist and was heavier denim originally. I then found this one and decided it was much more flattering and comfortable. All I did was sew close the side slits. I had loads of compliments on the outfit and I think the dress is going to be very versatile.

Jacket-Charter Club via Goodwill, Dress via Goodwill, Belt via Goodwill, Jewelry-Vintage via Mission Thrift, Boots-Aerosoles via Kohls

I scored the boots last spring at Kohl’s. Sometimes it pays to have big feet! They were originally $99 and were marked down to $29.99. I had a coupon for 30% off so they wound up costing under $20!!!! Can’t beat that!

I’m linking up with Patti and all of the fabulous ladies for Visible Monday, Monday Mingle and Sunday Style!!

Stop back tomorrow for Makeover Monday and fun with sheets!!

TTFN

Tamera

14 comments
  1. Tamera, I love it when I can pick up anything for $20! This is a great outfit and I have missed your smile and wittiness! Hobby Lobby will eat your money, so watch out! 🙂
    P.S. I put directions on the bottom of my post so you will be able to comment. No pressure. 🙂

  2. I love Hobby Lobby and it is run by some incredible people! I am also singing the praises of Goodwill today…wish I could sew like you! Have a wonderful week…..

  3. I have similar fit problems with pants and I think your brilliant solution will totally work for me too!!! I’m excited beyond belief because pants are ALWAYS a challenge. There’s a Hobby Lobby near me and I share your excitement about that too. Love the denim dress and red sweater!!!

  4. Helga said:

    Bloody well done sorting out those pants!!! Winner!
    I think you need a whip and some cowgirl boots to complete this fabulous ensemble! Does DivaDelight have a cowgirl outfit by any chance?!
    XXX

  5. Joni said:

    Make out Monday? Are you going to be half nekid in your nekid boy toy sheets? LOL

  6. CONGRATS on reworking the pants. I have the hardest time with pants, I usually stick to skirts (and even then need to alter most of the time). Aww sweet kitty photo! She’s a gorgeous lady.

    The dress looks great jazzed up with the sweater and flower pin.

  7. Such a cute outfit, Tamera. I also really like the top photo outfit in your Oct. 11 post (can’t find them comment button thingy). The colors in that top and scarf are gorgeous.

  8. Erica said:

    Popping by via Visible Monday. Your dress is such a great find, how cute is your little yellow flower pin too?!

  9. Oh, I like this outfit a whole lot! The dress is fab. It is one of those versatile pieces that can be used in a lot of ways. I’d like to find one like that! The jacket adds such a cool western vibe and the boots, wow! Not only are the great looking, but what a bargain!

  10. Vix said:

    Yeah! I can comment! I love that denim dress, it’s gorgeous with the red jacket over the top and the blue is such a great colour on you (but what isn’t?)
    Genius idea with the pants. I have the same problem, I’m a short arse with long legs, that’s why I love catsuits! Fancy the hubster getting lucky in the thrifts, I love a man who knows how to find a bargain.
    The pets are adorable. Helga’s right, Divalicious needs a cowgirl outfit! I want to know how to managed to steal Polly Piglet without me noticing! xxx

  11. pastcaring said:

    Yes haw! Love the western-influenced look, you on-trend style queen you! Add a cowboy hat (one for you, one for Miss Diva) and you’re fit for the annual Ewing BBQ!
    Oh look at Callie sneaking onto your chair, naughty tortie! So like my old cat…
    Good idea about the trousers. I am a tucker-inner so it wouldn’t work for me, also I have the opposite body shape, long torso and short legs. We all have our challenges when it comes to finding clothes to fit and flatter our body shapes, don’t we? And look how wonderfully well we succeed! xxxxx

  12. Thank you so very much, yeahhhhhhhhhhhh.
    Wordpress doesn´t like my comment, ahhhhhhhh.
    I wrote it 3 times

  13. I really love that denim dress…I need to look for one for myself! Oh, and you’re going to LOVE Hobby Lobby. I’m not much into crafting, but I’ve gotten so many beautiful things for my home there!

    Cindy at Notes in the Key of Life

  14. If I could sew like you….oh, watch out!! My problem with shopping is finding my size, which seem to be the first to go. I ❤ your furkids and your denim dress!

Thanks for visiting!! I love to hear what you're thinking!! I read all of your posts and will try to answer them!

