A Soldier’s Life……

Hello Blogland!! I hope everyone has had a wonderful weekend!! I’ll be sharing the last of the photo’s from the Heritage festival last weekend.

Soldiers during the Civil War had it really rough, especially those on the Confederate side. Lack of food, exhaustion,  poor sanitation, having to sleep out in the weather all contributed to the spread of “camp diseases”. Almost as many soldiers died from these as were killed or injured. Disease such as Typhoid, malaria, dysentery, Scurvy, and other nutritional disorders took their toll. The lack of effective medicines and treatments made it difficult to contain these diseases.

Another less “talked about” hazard to the soldiers were rampant STD’s. “Camp-followers”and city brothels offered ample encounters with prostitutes. Sexually transmitted diseases, primarily syphilis and gonorrhea, were common in the armies of both North and South. Among white Union troops, there were 182,800 cases of both diseases combined. There were no effective treatments, and there would be none until long after the war. Among the techniques they tried were rest, diet, injection of various metals in to the urethra, internal use of mercury compounds and even the application of mercury vapor on the surface of the body. Reports that nearly one-third of post-war deaths in veterans’ homes were due to late-stage venereal disease show the futility of these treatments.

Here is a collage of pictures of how the soldiers lived during this time.

The Pry House, which was McClellans/Union headquarters during the battle, had many displays of medical equipment and a field hospital set-up used during the era. As I had noted before, Clara Barton, founder of the Red Cross and nursing as we know it, came into prominence during the battle here. Battlefield medicine and emergency medicine as we know it today came into being during the Civil War. Triage was first used during the Battle of Antietam.

Operating “room” and equipment used during the Civil War.

Many of you know I work as a project engineer on an army base. The base I work on is part of the Army Medical Command. We supply the military with medical supplies and develop new cutting edge medical equipment. I was very proud to see a display at the Pry Museum of a current battlefield ambulance and emergency equipment juxtaposed with a Civil War Era ambulance. The strides made in emergency and battlefield care is amazing!!

Much of the modern day equipment was developed and designed on my base.

Lastly I’m going to share photo’s of the Heritage Festival that was held in town. Lot’s of food and craft vendors with musical entertainment.

1. Town Hall
2. Musical Group playing Civil War Era instruments and songs
3. Vendors
4. Food street–this is the street I live on–this is looking towards home. The guy with the grey shirt and cute butt is the hubster!

And now onto the fashion portion of the post. Broke out a maxi and “autumnized” it. I’ve decided to put them away until next spring so I’ll be excited to see them again-like new clothes. Plus I am planning to add more via thrifting or sewing over the winter.

I freshen it up with a thrifted leopard purse and a leopard fedora I found on sale at Kmart.

Here’s the accessories:

Shoes-Naturalizer via Goodwill (never worn $4) Bracelets-Burlington coat Factory, Amber necklace-gift from the amazing Vix!

I can’t forget some gratuitous puppy photo’s!! I have a picture of the ever-elusive Mr.Bill snoozing.

And of course, I can’t forget Her Highness. I’ll be glad when some of the celebrity ‘tude wears off!!

I’ll be linking up for Visible Monday and Monday Mingle!!

Stop by tomorrow for Makeover Monday and see what can be done with popcorn tins, yardsale finds and some spray paint!!

TTFN

Tamera

10 comments
  1. I’ve learned a lot from your historical posts, Tamera, and I appreciate you. It was certainly a nightmare to have most illnesses 150 years ago.

    You look cool in your maxi and fedora. And of course the furry ones look serene – they have *you* to see to their every need : > Thanks so much for linking up!

  2. I also enjoyed your historical posts…I love visiting history!! You look like you are ready to have a fun, joyful week ahead!!

  3. I winced at the description of some of the medical treatments, but I enjoyed the history lesson! I think I might have to borrow your hat or at least find one similar-it’s FABULOUS!!, just like your smile. Have a wonderful week!

    Love, Jean

  4. YES to the animal hat!! Love it. Hey Meno supermodel, I have missed you. My life is crazy and I haven’t been able to visit but I think about you so I hope that counts. 🙂

  5. pastcaring said:

    If there is one thing (actually there are many) that makes me VERY glad to live now and not 150 years ago, it’s medical advances and antibiotics! The conditions in the Civil War don’t bear thinking about.
    You look amazing in your maxi with hints of sexy leopard! And look at those snoozy dogs, they have a good life, don’t they?! xxxx

  6. Vix said:

    Much as I love vintage fashion the health care of past times is truly hideous! Love that lady’s red red and nice to see a sneaky glimpse of Mr Tamera! The pooches are looking gorgeous but nothing beats your outfit today, one of the best yet! You look amazing and girl, can you rock a hat?! xxx

  7. Marci said:

    What a fascinating post! Thank you! -Marci @ Stone Cottage Adventures

  8. STDs….wonder when they found the time…such a shame to have lost so many b/c of lack of tx.
    Love the leopard hat & the bag! Nice touch!

  9. I love how you “autumnized” your maxi…I also absoluteley LOVE the name of your blog! 😀

    Hope you’ll visit my blog, where I’m giving away a gorgeous top!

    Cindy at Notes in the Key of Life
    I’m giving away a beautiful Soft Surroundings top!

  10. I have really enjoyed your historical information posts. The Civil War was a horrible time in our history, one we should never forget. Thank you for what you do in your job to help our service members, the improvements in medical equipment are very important to our military.

    Your outfit is really fab, I love the hat and bag.

    Your dogs will likely always be spoiled and Miss KaiKai will forever be a diva–how could she not be with such cute outfits?

Thanks for visiting!! I love to hear what you're thinking!! I read all of your posts and will try to answer them!

