A visit with the Generals….

Hello Blogland!!!  I hope everyone has been having a wonderful week!! It seems like Fall has finally arrived here in Maryland!!!

My little “diva star” has certainly let her new fame go to her head!!! She expects me to carry her outside all the time now except for a brief moment to “do her business”. And if I don’t-she just plops herself down and refuses to walk and gives me the stink eye!!! Oh the indignities she must suffer!

Let’s get the outfits out-of-the-way before today’s history lesson! Thanks so much for allowing me to share this with you!

Teal Sweater-Goodwill, Tshirt-Kohl’s, Trousers-Goodwill, Purse-Goodwill, Scarf-Vintage, Shoes-Comfortview

I’m wearing Teal sweater #2–it’s more of a “green” teal then my other one. Little story about the T shirt-I brought some for layering from Kohl’s on sale last month. They have that sticky strip on the front that leaves a residue so I pre-washed them according to instructions. They ALL shrank in length but got baggier in width. Now I KNOW I haven’t suddenly gotten taller or skinnier in real life. I wound up returning them all today. The clerk told me that she has had that problem with the Croft & Barrow Tshirts. She says it can happen based on different colors-some shrink in length and others don’t. Evidently depends on the manufacturers lot. Just wanted to pass that on to anyone who might be buying the T’s at Kohl’s.

Jacket-CJBANKS via Goodwill, Tshirt-JoneNewYork via Goodwill, Jean-Lee Riders via Walmart, Pin-vintage

I love this jacket-it reminds me of all the chrysanthemums in the fall. I am going to taper it in a bit at the waist as it’s a tad baggy. Got loads of compliments–it’s just such a happy jacket!!

And now on to our history portion of the post.  First up are pictures of the Antietam National Cemetary. They began burying soldier’s here after the battle in 1862. It became officially a National Cemetary in 1870-making it one of the oldest.

Antietam National Cemetery, covers 11.36 acres  and contains 5,032 interments (1,836 unidentified), adjoins the park. Civil War interments occurred in 1862. The cemetery contains only Union soldiers from the Civil War period. Confederate dead were interred in the Washington Confederate Cemetery within Rosehill Cemetery, Hagerstown, Maryland; Mt. Olivet Cemetery in Frederick, Maryland; and Elmwood Cemetery in Shepherdstown, West Virginia. The cemetery also contains the graves of veterans and their wives from the Spanish-American War, World War I and II, and the Korean War. The cemetery was closed to additional interments in 1953. Two exceptions have been made, the first in 1978 for Congressman Goodloe Byron and the second in 2000 for the remains of USN Fireman Patrick Howard Roy who was killed in the attack on the USS Cole. The Antietam National Cemetery was placed under the War Department on July 14, 1870; it was transferred to the National Park Service on August 10, 1933.

The poem “Bivouc of the Dead” is on plaques around the cemetery. This poem is found at every National Cemetary. It is quite moving.

One of the highlights of the weekend was held across the street from my house. My neighbor is an avid Civil War buff and historian/re-enactor. He had a group called “The Confederacy of Union General” give a presentation. These gentleman portray famous Union Generals, Majors, etc. They give a short lecture and then answer audience questions in character. It was so fascinating and informative!!! You learned so much and I am in awe of their knowledge of their character.

They also had President Lincoln as portrayed by James Getty. He is a direct descendent of Presisdent Lincoln and is known world-wide for his portrayal at places like Ford’s Theater and Gettysburg. He was AMAZING. You truly forgot that he was only an actor and not the real deal. One question was how did he handle the death of their son Willie in January/February 1862 with all that was burdening him with the country at war. His answer brought tears to our eyes-and his. He talked how horrible it was to lose a child, and how Mrs. Lincoln went into a deep depression. She was never the same. He spoke of how Willie was interred in a friends crypt in Washington until they went back to Illinoise. He told about how he would go to the crypt and have them pull out his casket and stand beside it to talk to Willie so he wouldn’t feel alone. He genuinely conveyed the grief of a father telling it.

Below are historical photo’s of President Lincoln meeting the generals after the battle at Antietam.

I have truly enjoyed sharing this with everyone. Have any of you guessed that I was a teacher in the past?? Yup-it’s coming out!!

TTFN

Tamera

 

9 comments
  1. Two very nice outfits! Love the matching flats!
    Thanks for the history lesson, teacher! 🙂

  2. joni said:

    Well you would have made a fun teacher I’m sure. These pictures are so interesting. People love to reenact this era and remember the hardships they suffered and what they fought for. The costumes look real!

    You know, I had that same problem with shirts and tank tops at JC Penney. They shrunk in length and got baggier. I quit buying their clothes because I just couldn’t figure out which brand it was. Probably more than one brand. Anyway, I thought it was because they were sewn the wrong way but who knows.

    I do love the fabric of your jacket!

  3. vintagefrenchchic said:

    I love the colors of the first outfit all together. Very retro (the colors, to me, for some reason) and Fall’ish.

  4. Vix said:

    I agree with Joni, you must have been a brilliant teacher, your passion and humour just shine. I loved this series of posts, I read every word and went back to look at them a couple of times. The Americans are so much better than us Brits at respecting and valuing history, we’re very complacent.
    Both outfits are fab, the teal is such a gorgeous colour with your darker hair and that crysanth jacket is beautiful.
    Hope Miss Kaekae gets back down to earth soon! xxx

  5. Love the orange-red and green combo! Fab! I wish I could take history with you, you make it sound so interesting. I also love all the photos you have shown. The Lincoln impersonator reminds me of how perfect the guy who plays Scrooge at Franklin, TN Dickens of a Christmas weekend. He really gets into the part!

  6. pastcaring said:

    I think you have really enjoyed writing these historical posts, Tamera, as I have enjoyed reading them.
    Love the chrysanthemum jacket, such pretty colours.
    Oh your naughty little diva, she’ll be demanding her own limo next! xxx

  7. I love your teal cardi and beautiful scarf, and that second outfit jacket is great, so pretty floral print!
    And such interesting photos and historical anecdotes!, nice to read you!
    besos

  8. Beryl said:

    There’s such a difference between learning history and feeling it. Good teaching! Thanks!
    I love blue shoes – I have a teal pair that I will be very sad to wear out. That scarf in the first picture is very nice. And what a cute printed jacket.
    Thanks for the heads-up on those T-shirts. My good T-shirts have all come from Chico’s. I always cringe when I pay for them, but years later, they are still in good shape, so are worth it. Sometimes, it’s not just the money, it’s all the time wasted.

  9. Helga said:

    Darling,you tell it beautifully! I so want to visit!
    And of course,theres the Diva Darling Star to consider…Education and pleasure!
    I’m really into teal,especially with burgundy! And I’m really into your smile!
    XXXXXXXXX

Thanks for visiting!! I love to hear what you're thinking!! I read all of your posts and will try to answer them!

