The vintage blouse makes it’s debut!!

Hello Blogland!!! Wow, what a dreary day after the beautiful weekend we’ve had. We got almost 4 inches of rain so far today!!!Miss KaeKae is now an internet STAR!!! I did a search for vintage Antietam images to use in my post and her picture is on the front page of the search!!! Now she will be unbearable and make more diva demands!! I snipped it to save and share!

Last Friday I debuted the handmade vintage blouse I thrifted a few weeks ago. I’m thinking by the style and fabric it was late 60’s or early 70’s and probably made for a guy. I didn’t care-I LOVED it!! I had so many compliments about it. I’m going to draft a pattern off of it to make more. I paired it with thrifted wide-leg jeans, clogs and love beads-had a flashback to High School!!!! The purse I recently thrifted and while gorgeous is a total pain to use. It’s narrow and hard to get stuff into. But no fear–I have a makeover idea for it!!

Feelin’ Groovy!!! This is how I dressed mid 70’s in high school!

I decided to be somewhat casual today as it was gonna be WET and MISERABLE!! I started out in a white button front blouse and my black boyfriend blazer-but got too hot (menopause sucks) I then decided to change out to my thrifted knit glen plaid blazer. I was STILL sweating like a pig!! Off went the blouse and on went a black tshirt. The hubster watched all of this in total confusion-LOL. I adore the knit blazer–it’s a ponte knit with black velvet trim and is like wearing a tshirt!!! Everyone loved it!

Jean-Lee Rider via Walmart years ago, Black T-Goodwill, Jacket-Thrifted, Ankle Boots-thrifted for $2 maybe 10+ years ago, Buttonflower by MeganMae

Since I’ve been using a homemade shampoo bar on my hair it’s gotten crazy curly!!! The humidity today was causing it to go wild!!

And now to our history portion of the post. I am going to share photo’s from the tour of the battlefield. They had shuttle buses and they stopped at certain points where a ranger or Living History person gave a lecture about what occurred there. It was FACINATING!!

We started first at what is known as “The Cornfield”, which was part of D.R.Miller’s farm. The battle began in the foggy dawn and raged for several hours that morning. The cornfield was but stubble when it was over strewn with THOUSANDS of dead and dying men.

The cornfields look like they did that morning in 1862

The day after.

Union Artillary and Infantry

What the Union soldiers saw looking out from North Woods/Poffenberger Farm

The Mumma barn, house and outbuildings

The Mumma farm after the battle

The next stop was a farm lane called “The Sunken Lane” but forever now known as “Bloody Lane”. The farm lane was in like a trench with high sides. The Confederates lay in their and decimated the Union soldiers until the Union overpowered them. It became like an open grave full of bloody bodies.

“Bloody Lane” today and the lane off it to another farm.

Bloody Lane the day after-now a mass grave.

We then traveled to the location of the last skirmishes of the battle-Burnside Bridge. This location is very near my house. The Confederates were on the ridge above and it took hours for the Union Army to cross the bridge  and take the high ground. From there they ran the Confederates back into Sharpsburg proper.

On the ridge above Burnside Bridge and Antietam Creek

Here is Burnside Bridge as seen after the battle.

the Burnside Bridge

Our last stop was The Pry Farm, which was the Union General McClellan’s headquarter’s during the battle.  It also served as a field hospital.

The Pry House. They had a wonderful Civil War era herb garden. The Pry family eventually left this farm for Tennessee as their children were so traumatized by the battle and aftermath.

The Pry house the day after

I’m going to leave the National Cemetary for another post. Below are some more vintage photos taken after the battle. Antietam was the first time there were photo’s taken on a battlefield. Matthew Brady exhibited them in New york City to the shock of the populace, who now had a stark reminder of the price of war.

The dead awaiting burial the day after.

The first picture is of the Lutheran church in Sharpsburg-which had to be torn down. The second picture is of a lone tree on the battlefield. The third picture is of the Dunker Church and the dead.

Thanks to all of you who are allowing me to share this bit of history with you. One of the Living History speakers put the carnage of that day in perspective. There were more casualties that day then the Revolutionary Wart, War of 1812, Mexican-american War and Spanish-American War PUT TOGETHER.

To really put the Civil War’s cost in human life in perspective–770,000 died-2% of the total population of the US at that time. In today’s terms- it would be like losing 7 MILLION soldiers during the Iraq War. Mind boggling!!

Stop by Thursday for some more fashion and history!!

TTFN

Tamera

11 comments
  1. Jeannee said:

    Hello, my friend – YES W/ THE MENOPAUSAL HOT FLASHES! Gaad! And ty for the history!!! You present it very well, with pictures & aligned to the present day to make it more realistic! One of the things that my ex-husband & I shared was a love of history … I really became educated on military history during the time we were married! This brings back positive reminders from a difficult marriage … and this battlefield in particular – ahhh, I have a story … we had stopped there but I wasn’t feeling well, so I decided to wait in our truck … I put the seat back and closed my eyes, while my (then) husband took our doggy to explore … now, I did have my handicapped parking sticker on the dashboard…I’m almost asleep & I feel – a presence?! I open my eyes & some park employee is leaning over my hood, checking the handicapped parking sticker through the glass and – yeah. Couldn’t help myself. Flew up in the seat – HELLO! I thought he was going to faint ;-

  2. Wow! Thanks for sharing these photos and the stories behind them. Some of those old photos are chilling.
    You, on the other hand, look wonderful! I like the blazer in the second photo. I’m crazy about jeans & blazers!

  3. 50 and counting said:

    I was down your way last October. Could not believe the humidity. My hair had bounce!

  4. You look GORGEOUS in those outfits – especially love the jacket on you! Thanks for the history lesson – those photos are amazing aren’t they? Sarah xxx

  5. joni said:

    I love your hippie 70’s look Tamera. It’s exactly how I dressed in the mid 70’s too. Those are great fitting denims on you too.
    After looking at some of these old photos, especially the ones of the bodies in the ditches. It makes me think about how many of our wild street kids think they’re so tough, but they’ve never seen a horror like that in real life. Well, unless of course they went into the military services.

  6. Vix said:

    What a sobering post! There’s Miss Kaekae being the internet superstar and you totally rocking the 1970s vibe in that gorgeous tunic and those superbly fitting jeans and then you hit us with those astoundingly haunting Civil war images and facts. The Pry House is magnificent and those photos of the fallen just show how horrific war really is. xxx

  7. very interesting photos and historical information, indeed!
    And I love that plaid jacket, and how you sport it with jeans, a black t-shirt, and a beautiful smile, so elegantly!, And the handmade shirt is pretty vintage and cool!, and also love your bag!
    besos

  8. Incredible retro look! I think you styled that shirt perfectly. I like your hair all curled up.

    I’ve definitely already learned a lot from your posts. The pictures are beautiful and horrific. I think the photographs really tell as much as the words do. Thanks for taking the time to put this together.

  9. I love your 70’s look, I love the tunic..Looks great on you.. Thanks for sharing the photos.Enjoyed..
    I so agree……….HOT FLASHES STINK!! I really wonder………will it ever end.eeeeeeeeeeh!!!!
    My computer has crashed, and I have very limited use of it..That is why ,I havent been to your blog.. Got to go buy a new one..

  10. War is so horrific! Your pictures are very real and they don’t sugar-coat the truth. Thanks for the history; your blog is so fantastic with all the topics you cover.

  11. Helga said:

    Awesome pix! Hurrah for the invention of the camera!
    Loving that vintage top,it’s fabulous, and looks gloriously like crimplene!
    I’ve only been able to view this post now, must have been my homeinternet…perving at you at work,PHWOAR!
    XXXXXXXXXX

Thanks for visiting!! I love to hear what you're thinking!! I read all of your posts and will try to answer them!

