Did I mention I’m a hooker??

Hello Blogland!!! Yay it’s almost the end of the week!! Today was our Garrison (another name for the army post I work on. We also call it the base or the installation to just further confuse folk) picnic-always a semi-fun time. I am again officially the Garrison Desssert Queen. The “Pink Ooze of Doom” Cake, aka the Chocolate-Covered Raspberry Cake, won first place in the cake division and over-all Dessert Grand Champion. I of course fixed it up a tad. It was scarfed up pretty quickly.

I’m one of those ADHD crafters that has several projects going at once. I have some that are for “TV” time–like to keep my hands busy. Currently I have a fabric yo-yo garland I’m working on and a crochet granny square throw. I felt like I need another for my rotation to keep me from getting bored.

Now on to the hooker thing. I didn’t mean the strut-yo-stuff for a few bucks kind!! I do primitive rug hooking, both the yarn kind and the wool fabric strip kind. I get all of my wool fabric from thrifted clothing. I recently learned how to overdye wool to get colors I needed that don’t seem to come in the wool fashion rainbow.  Recycling or upcycling at it’s best.

I draw my own patterns and decided I wanted something autumny involving owls. I came up with this design–it’s drawn on monkscloth and I have it stretched on my frame.

When I went through my wool fabric stash I discovered  I didn’t really have any orange/rusts or yellow/golds for the project. I do, however, have a ton of teal colored wool. Go figure! I don’t live anywhere near a rug hooking store and I didn’t want to buy it over the ‘net. I pulled out some of my ivory wool, some tan wool, some neutral prints, yellow and orange Rit dye and went to town. You never know quite what you’re going to get!! I think I got a nice range of colors and now all I have to do is cut it into 1/4″ strips and I’m set!!

Here’s some of the completed rugs I still have that are out now. I cycle some of them seasonally or give them away.

How many of you thrifty folks thrift from people’s garbage day piles on the curb??? I have no shame because I scope it out all the time as I travel about. Last week I spied an office chair out on the curb with the trash. I pulled over and checked it out. Definitely vintage, heavy as a beast with solid wood  and metal. The upholstery is a bit shabby. I hefted the behemoth into my tiny Dodge Neon (hubby’s rule: you can’t bring it home if you can’t get it in the car–hehehe you’d be AMAZED what I can get in this car!!) and toted it on home. A nice scrubbing and a vintage tablecloth and it’s perfect for the Craft Palace. Much better than the plastic IKEA office chair. I’m now on the hunt for fabric to make a slipcover-hopefully a nice vintage curtain or spread!!

Now on to the style portion of our show!! I stopped by the Salvation Army on the other side of town after the picnic today because it was $1 women’s sweaters day. Pickings were a bit slim but I managed to find 3 cardigans-one which I’m wearing tomorrow and these two:

Wine-colored Avenue Cardigan and Teal-colored Grace Elements Cardigan that still had the $68 tags on it!

I already have a teal cardigan that exact color that I’m going to pass on to a friend as this one is MUCH nicer and fits better. Speaking of that teal cardigan-I wore it Wednesday!

Cardigan via Goodwill, Top-Apt9 via Kohls, Crops via Goodwill, Purse via Goodwill, Sandals via Kohls

Here is the bling. These are vintage and originally had white center-which were beat up. I decided to paint them back and make them into black-eyed-susans, which are Maryland’s state flower and in bloom everywhere. I had so many compliments about them!

I decided to jazz it up somewhat for the picnic. Why not wear sequins when you’re getting an award????

Top via Goodwill, Crops via Goodwill and refashioned from long pants, Shoes-Clarks via Goodwill

Can’t forget the bling!!!

Earrings via Kohl’s 80% clearance, Bracelets-old

Well, I’ve chattered on enough for one post. Everyone have a great weekend and chat at ya Sunday!!

TTFN

Tamera

7 comments
  1. You are so talented! Love the rugs….think of me next time you wanna give it away!
    Love the green/blue blouse on you!

  2. joni said:

    Tamera! I had no idea that hookers could be so multi-talented. I thought they were only good at one thing.’)

    I’m going to have to find some additional crafts I enjoy because right now I pretty much only have one thing going on and it’s getting a little boring around here. I prefer to have my hands in several pots like you.
    Have a grand weekend!

  3. pastcaring said:

    Your rugs are little works of art, Tamera, I love them! Especially the peacock and the blackbird with the watermelon. Can’t wait to see your owl rug.
    Your chair sounds great, I love the thought of you squeezing huge items into your car with fierce determination.
    And the colours and prints on both tops are delightful. xxx

  4. How cool about the rugs! Your results are phenomenal, I hope you share the completed owl one.

    Also just for second – I’m saying this as a thrifter, bargain shopper, and very occasional dumpster diver: Please please please be careful bringing home furniture that is sitting on the side of the road. They can harbor varmints that you don’t want in your house – including the dreaded bedbugs which are unfortunately on the rise.

    In less preachy news, your black-eyed susan make over is fabulous. They look wonderful with your painterly blouse and cardi.

  5. I didn’t know you were so active and talented in the crafting sphere!! I’ve been wanting to learn how to make quilts and your rugs are inspiring too. Wow.

    I hear you on the car/thrifting connection. We’ve got a regular 4 door sedan, no mini van or SUV. I’m happy about that but every so often I sure could use a little more space to bring home that $20 bureau or giant mirror/painting/bookcase/sofa etc. etc. But it’s probably all for the best. I’d have to open a store and I really don’t want to do that at this stage.

    Love the colors in your outfit. Your cardigans are great, too. Hope you were able to check back on my post when you asked about gray hair. I tried to provide some info. 🙂

  6. Sheila said:

    I love your rugs! I did some rug hooking when I was a kid (from a kit), and enjoyed it quite a lot.

    You have the most amazing luck in your thrifting! I’m just boggled at all the good stuff you find!

  7. Vix said:

    The hookers around here aren’t an iota as talented and stylish as you!!! I love those rags so much. I wish lived near you, if I could make something anywhere near as good as that I’d be a happy woman! Loving the thought of you shoving your finds into the car with dogged determination. Both blouses rock my world!!! xxx

Thanks for visiting!! I love to hear what you're thinking!! I read all of your posts and will try to answer them!

