I got a wild hair….

Hello Blogland!!! How is everyone this lovely weekend?? It FINALLY cooled down here in Maryland and we got about 4 inches of rain. I’m sure I will have 20 lb zucchini this week in the garden!!I “got a wild hair” this week and decided to rearrange the Craft Palace. For those of you new to the blog, the Craft Palace is the spare bedroom that I have claimed as MY SPACE!!!  I spend a good deal of my time at home in here sewing,crafting and visiting blogs!

I was getting frustrated with having to move my sewing machine or laptop off of the table if I wanted to do something else. I really needed a dedicated sewing area and a spot where my laptop could live. I was in the Craft Dungeon (the basement) studying these 2 work table the hubster brought home from his former employer when they went out of business. The tops were a mess but nothing tablecloths couldn’t improve. Took a few measurements and a plan was formed!!

The hubster came home from helping a friend out with carpet Thursday nite to find the Craft Palace in a state of disarray.  He innocently asked if I hadn’t rearranged it a month ago?? HEHEHEHE–he should know by now how I like to rearrange furniture and such.

Friday I finished reorganizing my stash (I am such an OCD Magpie!) and Saturday I sweet talked Lauren into helping me move the tables upstairs. I am SO HAPPY with the new layout! I have a nice big sewing table (our former kitchen table in our old house that I yardsaled for $5 maybe 25 years ago) and a large L shaped area for other craftiness and the laptop. Here are some pictures:

Looking in from the doorway to the new L shaped arrangement. The shelves hold my collection of vintage planters.

The sewing center

My stuff. Yes, it’s all labeled!!!! LOLOL I totally cop to my OCD tendencies!

Old cabinet full of supplies.

Cupboard full of fabric. Her Highness is on her pillow snoring away!

I haven’t been thrifting much–seems to be a dry spell and I REALLY don’t need anything. Except 2 pair of lace curtains for the guest room. Didn’t find them but I scored this wonderful leather basket weave purse from Talbot’s for $3!!

I was out walking the dogs this afternoon along our front sidewalk because the grass was super wet and Her Majesty doesn’t “do” wet grass. A car full of tourists stopped in front of our house and rolled down the windows to exclaim over the cuteness of Miss KaeKae. She of course preened and posed and they took a picture. LOL- her fabulousness stops traffic!!

Stopping traffic in Lulupink via Ross

It’s drizzling and I’m done with this nature crap. I’ll meet you and Mr. Bill by the front door.

My end of the week outfits were nothing special. I’ve been battling migraines (ugh this WEATHER) so I’ve been somewhat lo-tech on the style front.

Thursday- Cardigan via Kohls, Top-Croft&Barrow via Kohl’s, Crops-Dressbarn via Goodwill, Sandals via Kohl’s, Buttonflower on top via MeganMae

Friday-Top via Goodwill, Crops via Goodwill, Sandals-Clarks via Goodwill, Purse via Goodwill, Bracelet via yard sale

Here’s a picture of one of the quilt squares I’m working on for the wallhanging for our daughter- I’ve made 4 like this and will need to make 4 more using pale yellow as the center block.

This was actually a pretty easy quilt pattern to do. I’m also making matching throw pillows ( I only need 2 each of the coral and yellow center squares for the wall hanging) for her.

Well, off to peruse my stash for my next quilting project. I’ve caught the bug and heaven knows there’s enough fabric here to quilt half of Maryland. I’m thinking of doing a small throw utilizing Civil War era quilt patterns and repro fabric as it’s the 150th anniversary of the Battle of Antietam/Sharpsburg this year. I live in Sharpsburg, where this, the bloodiest one day in American history, took place.

I’ll be linking up with Visible Monday and Monday Mingle!!

Have a great evening!

TTFN

Tamera

19 comments
  1. Stepping My Way to Bliss said:

    Nice job on the room! It looks like a great place for creative activity to abound. Sorry you are battling the migraines…headaches totally suck. And your outfits are still cute despite how you were feeling. : )

  2. A greed – your outfits are bright and cute, migraines be darned 9sorry about those, they really do drain the life from one). Ms. Kae is indeed the star she was born to be. And your room looks so inviting for crafts and projects – bravo to you!

  3. This is what I do in the summer…rearrange things in my house. Maybe you should come help me!! You look lovely in that bright hot pink in the first photo…that is a great outfit!! Have a wonderful week, Tamera!

  4. Your craft room is SO organized!!
    Miss KaeKae is absolutely adorable! I’m guessing you make all the outfits for Her Majesty? So cute!

  5. Woo! Congrats on digging in and organizing. I’m doing similar things at home – getting ready for a yardsale hopefully! Nothing like the relief of everything in its place and cleaned up.

    Love the buttonflower on your blouse! And your green purse. Wish I could thrift such an awesome find.

    Sorry about the migraines. This weather is horrible for them. Take it easy.

  6. Style Mentor™ said:

    This is so AWESOME! I need your OCD services right away! My office/room is a such a joke right now, I can’t find anything. But I am taking many tips from what you did here. Isn’t it nice to have a place where everything is so organized??? I had it once. Now I want it back!! Thank you for the inspiration!!!

  7. Style Mentor™ said:

    Oh, and you look great too, despite those pesky migraines. 🙂

  8. You are adorable, I’m always smiling when I’m reading your posts. I SO wish I had a space like yours but just looking at this makes me think how much fun it would be to hang out in it with you. You are a lucky lady!
    I am very OCD too. In fact, I tell my hubby that’s why I keep moving things around. Because I need something to do! Mostly the obsessive side for me.
    I love your green purse! I’m drooling over it. 😉

  9. You are so organized! You have inspired me to dust off my sewing machine and try to make some of the pieces I’ve been seriously putting off for years. That space is nice and comfortable as well.

    When you get a sec, please check out my new blog and follow me! Have a lovely day!
    * * * glamBLOUSE * * *
    http://www.glamblouse.blogspot.com/

  10. Vix said:

    What a huge space! I’d love to have a rummage in those GORGEOUS cupboards of yours & tickle Miss Kaekae’s belly whilst I’m at it! You look fabulous despite the horrid migraines, love that retro patterned top especially. xxx

  11. tammy said:

    Hello!

    So glad to hear from you! I popped over to your blog, looked back to April and found pix of your little one! Well…big girl now. If you read much of my blog you see that I have 2/3 adopted from Korea. Our son is currently stationed in Pearl Harbor with the Air Force. He is a 6′ Korean and really good looking! Our daughter married a Caucasian too, the picture of the kids shows you who they look like and boy am I happy! Being a Grama is even more fun than being a Mom and it has NOTHING to do with sending them home! I would keep them and start over again if I could.

    My blog is about memories and vintage, I paper craft instead of modeling altho’ I am post menopausal! Smile…

    Tammy

    Oops! You are a No Reply blogger! Tried to send you a note from my email and a photo. Too bad you can’t see the ‘bonus round’ photo if I post here!

  12. WendyB said:

    Cutest doggie evah! Don’t tell my dogs I said that…

  13. Oh wow. What a space!
    Would you believe I thrifted the same Talbots purse, only mine is black. I just love it.
    The quilt is great. That’s an art I really admire.
    The Diva is once again in the spotlight. I think she needs her own blog.

  14. Louise said:

    There are very few things I hate about living in our RV, and one of them is that I can’t rearrange the furniture! Jealous of your big Craft Palace re-do, and so glad it turned out great!

  15. Marci said:

    Oh, my! We have a chihuahua blessed with cuteness, too! Her name is Abigail. Thanks for a great post!

  16. leslie said:

    Oh my, I think I love your blog! Everyone should have a special sewing area in the craftroom. I love your little doggie-what a cutie. I’ll be back later to scroll back.

  17. That dog is a sweetie pie! I love your craft room, and especially that big cabinet!
    Brenda

Thanks for visiting!! I love to hear what you're thinking!! I read all of your posts and will try to answer them!

