Got the Quilting bug!!!

Hello Blogland!!  Today was one of those days when …if I were a drinking gal….I could’ve kicked back a fifth or two of Jack Daniels Black Label Whiskey-STRAIGHT!!  AAAARRRRGGGGHHHH!!!

I had a project meeting with a garrison tenant and the construction quality control guy about a renovation that is going through the 6th change after it’s been completed and turned in. The tenant (well, the facilities manager I deal with who is a sweetheart) got blind-sided from folks higher up the food chain that went behind his back and made more changes again. Like I just can wave my magic wand on the drawings and such.

The quality control guy is the pompous co-worker I had that class with a couple of weeks ago. I call him Captain Kickass. He’s one of those know-it-all, trying to be the superhero kinda guys.  He’s like a seagull-he swoops in, makes a lot of noise, craps all over everything and then flies off leaving you to clean up the mess.

His Superman mouth is always writing checks his Mickey Mouse butt can not cash. He was all “we can do this” and “we can do that” and “we  will have this by tomorrow”. What’s this “WE” crap Keemo-sabe??? “WE” aren’t doing anything-I’m the one that has to do the redesign and red0 the contract specifications, estimate and contract documentation.  He just makes sure the contractor that’s going to do the work does it exactly how I’ve designed it.

We-the facilities manager and I,  have been tortured with this crap for almost a year. We plan to get drunk when the project is completed-he’s bringing the tequila and I’m bringing the limes and salt and we are gonna sit on the curb outside the building and chug it!!

I decided to start a new project to relax me before I get really whacked out. I need some creative stress relief. I’ve decided to join a bunch of crafty bloggers in the Great Granny Along!!

This “challenge” is to make a quilt or wallhanging or potholder if that’s all you want to do with the “Granny Square” quilt block. Think like granny square crocheted afghans. It’s along the same lines. We will be taking pictures of our progress and posting them to The Great Granny Square Quilt Along Flicker Group. This should be fun-I haven’t made a quilt in AGES!!

I’ve chosen these fabrics for my quilt–I plan on making a wall hanging for my daughter for their new basement family room. She’s decorating it in silver grey walls with black and aqua accents so this should work out well. I chose the coral color because-she loves that color- and it makes it “pop”. I plan on making some pillows to match. I’ll be posting my progress as I go. I’m one of those people that needs to keep my hands busy.

I was off work yesterday so no outfit to post as I basically laid around all day like a slug with a hangover.

Tuesday outfit worked out well–I’m really liking the cardigan and think it will be a big player this fall.

Cardigan via Goodwill, Top-Sonoma via Kohls, Crops via Goodwill, Sandals via Kohls, Purse via Goodwill

Well–I’m off to cut out about a billion 2 1/2 inch squares!

Have a great evening! See y’all Thursday!

TTFN

Tamera

7 comments
  1. Joni said:

    Your necklace looks awesome! Let’s see it up close!
    You have great taste in fabrics. The blouse is super!

  2. I’ve thought of leaning how to quilt, just haven’t gotten around to it! I love the art of it. I can’t wait to see what you create.

  3. You’re too funny! Even your rants give me chuckles. Thank you!
    So, you can sew & make quilts? What am I missing here? I feel like the only person without a creative bone in my body. 😦
    Anyway, can’t wait to see the finished product! No tequila while sewing! 🙂

  4. LOVE the colors in this outfit. So flattering.

    Sorry about the guy! Sounds really rough. Quilting does sound really fun. I was sad when I moved out of my family’s house in with my husband and left my great-grandmother’s quilt behind. There’s nothing like a blankie that’s been handed down many, many years. If only I remotely had time or space, I’d try my hand at making one myself.

  5. Vix said:

    Even when you’re mad you are hilarious, you must be such a joy to be around! Love the colour of that cardi on you and the necklace looks amazing. What fab quilting fabrics you’ve chosen! x

  6. I haven’t got the patience for quilting, but I admire those who do! Love the colours you’ve chosen.

    I ADORE the outfit – wow, such a great cardi, and it goes amazingly with the top underneath. Great look, Tamera!

Thanks for visiting!! I love to hear what you're thinking!! I read all of your posts and will try to answer them!

