I miss my Dad….

Hello Blogland! I hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend.

This will probably be a kind of , oh I don’t know, melancholy post today. But if anything I want to be real and I’m not Susy smiley Face everyday.

This is my first Father’s Day without my dad. He passed away October 4, 2011 just past his 76th birthday after a long illness. In fact, he had been ill since the mid 70’s (Crohn’s disease, Throat Cancer, Heart Bypass, Kidney failure, etc. etc. etc.) We used to call him the Bionic Man because he just kept defying the odds and kept on going. He never complained about his illnesses.

Dad in November 2006 with his 71st birthday present to himself!

I went out in my garden for a bit this afternoon and shed a few tears. I got my love of gardening from him. His vegetable garden was a precise thing of beauty. Every plant neatly in a row evenly spaced. Not a weed in sight. His whole yard was like something out of a magazine.

He loved to read and turned me on to James Michner’s work (Centennial, Tales of the South Pacific) His favorite, being a native Marylander, was Chesapeake. I re-read it after he passed to remember him.

He donated his body to science (Johns Hopkins) and the State of Maryland to use in forensic science demonstrations and research. They have completed what they will be doing . Tomorrow there will be a ceremony to honor those who do this and we will be laying his remains (he was cremated) to rest in the State cemetery. Somewhat ironic for the day after Father’s Day.

Anyhow-on to the fashion. I was asked how many purses I have–last count 11-all thrifted. I’ve been looking for a dark pink and an olive/lime green one. Love me some purses!!

Top-ANA via Goodwill, Crops-Dockers via Goodwill, Purse via Goodwill, Belt via thrift, Sandals via Kmart

I think this would look better with a silver belt so I’ll have to keep my eye out for one. Or get ambitious and make one.

Miss KaeKae in Lulu Pink via Ross

Mr. Bill in Fur via God

I am linking up with Visible Monday, Monday Mingle and Thrifter Anonymous!! Check them out!

16 comments
  1. How wonderful that you had a dad who was so important to your life! What a legacy he left behind!! You look wonderful in these colors!! have a great week, Tamera!!

  2. I have a lump in my throat reading about you and your Dad today. I miss mine terribly too, and he’s been gone for nine years. I love that he contributed his body for research – that’s a man! And you look wonderful in your Sunday colors.

  3. I’ll be seeing my 89 yr old father this week. His health isn’t good so all my brothers and sisters will be gathering for this birthday. It’s so hard when they’re gone. I loved the picture of your dad with the car. My husband is a car fanatic and he’d appreciate the panache of your dad.

    I love your outfit (especially the color!) and actually think the belt you have is perfect. No need for silver, in my opinion.

    Have a good week!

  4. Oh, Tamera, I love your dad’s photo with his cool car! It’s wonderful to hear how much he meant to you. Despite the tears, I hope you had a wonderful day.
    Gorgeous blouse you’ve got there, and your pups are just too adorable!

  5. Stepping My Way to Bliss said:

    I am sad with you. Sounds like you had a great dad. I think it is amazing he donated his body to science. Will be thinking about you tomorrow.

    Cute outfit. : ) I could swear you have more than 11 purses!!

  6. Vix said:

    What a generous man your dear father was, donating his body so that hopefully others won’t have to suffer the way he did, you must be immensely proud despite the sadness. Hoping the ceremony goes well for you.
    Miss KaeKae is a beauty, what a well-dressed dog, mind you with an owner as stylish as you sh’e been raised well. x

  7. Kristin said:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. I was just saying to my mom today that it felt so strange to have Father’s Day without my Grandpa.

  8. Ah, your sweet little chihuahua’s are all dressed up nice for your blog. Well, one of them anyway. haha! Yay for Pet Finders!
    Lovely story about your dad. It’s inspiring to hear about those who have battled illnesses but never complain. I don’t know how they do it! Good for him for donating his body to science. My brother was killed in a bicycle accident and some part of his eyes were donated to a blind person so now they can see. Isn’t that wonderful? 😉
    11 purses? Sounds like you shop by color inspiration like I do. I once had a beautiful mauve purse and wish I could find another one like it. Good luck on your search!

  9. Megan, The Frugalista Diaries said:

    So inspiring, you look amazing – as always

    Xo Megan

  10. Kim,USA said:

    Pam I love this outfit on you!! Your post made me missed my Dad too! ^_^

    Kim,USA

  11. Tamera, it was nice to read about your father. I didn’t have mine around while growing up so I love to hear/read others speak so fondly of their fathers. Very beautiful. You also look cute in that teal blue. 🙂

  12. Ana said:

    What a lovely tribute to your father (and I admire his taste in birthday self-gifts!), and donating one’s body to science is just an amazingly generous-spirited thing to do.

    As for you, that print (and colour!) is just gorgeous!

  13. Tamera, what do you say to someone who’s lost a loved one? There’s really no words adequate enough. I know how you feel. I lost my dad too but at a much younger age (18). He must have been quite a piece of work racing around in that little yellow car. I hope I’m driving something similar when I’m 76!

  14. What a lovely tribute to your Father. He looked quite dapper next to a very cool car.
    You look very lovely in your outfit. I say one can never have too many purses! Although I generally only carry one, I have a bunch. You’ve inspired me to get some of them out and use them!

  15. Louise said:

    I truly admire that you father donated his body so that others could learn. May your memories of him always bring you comfort.

Thanks for visiting!! I love to hear what you're thinking!! I read all of your posts and will try to answer them!

