The most stylish lady I’ll ever know

Hello Blogland!! I hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend!! It’s certainly gorgeous here (70’s and low humidity-if only all of  summer could be this way)

I’ve been kind of nostalgic with our daughter getting married recently.  A little sad about those family members who have passed and couldn’t be there to celebrate with us. My dad, Julie’s Pop, passed away last October. Julie was his only granddaughter and the first of the grandkids to marry.  He was so proud of her and looking forward to the wedding.

And how I wish my great-grandmother Annie would’ve been there. She passed in April 1994 just short of 105 years old. We were blessed that she had her mind until the end. She adored her only great-great granddaughter Julie. In fact, she gave Julie a rock crystal necklace and earrings that she received for her 18th birthday in 1907 to be worn on her wedding day. Julie wearing them made it like Annie was there, too.

Julie and Annie October 1987. Julie is wearing a princess costume I made her.

Annie would’ve LOVED style blogs. She always was quite fashionable. She loved clothes and never dressed dowdy. She wore things I would wear as a 20+ year old young woman!

Annie in her wedding outfit December 1910. It was brown wool piped in burnt orange velvet with a cream silk blouse. There was a cream crochet lace overlay on the jacket shoulders and the flowers on her hat were cream velvet and organdy. She made her suit and trimmed her hat herself.

She decided she wanted something “trendy” for her 100th birthday in 1989. Floral blazers were a big thing and she informed me she wanted one that had a black background and lots of pastel colors. So off to the Carrolltowne Mall we went with Julie in the stroller! We found this jacket in the Junior’s Dept at Fashion Bug. The sales clerks got the biggest kick out of this little old lady shopping there. She had them all in stitches joking with them!

Annie in her trendy floral jacket in 1989. She wore this with a black A-line skirt, white button front blouse and pink beads. Here she is wearing it over her house dress to try it on. I had to shorten the sleeves for her.

She had arranged for her funeral when she was in her 70’s and had two outfits chosen to be buried in. One for summer and one for winter. We used to agonize over what would happen if she passed in the spring or fall?? Which outfit should she be buried in? She decided if it was under 60 degrees in the spring/fall she would wear the winter outfit.

I used to take her out to the funeral home for viewings. Living in a small town-she would know almost everyone. It was a big social event. Once, when she was in her 90’s, we were out paying our respects when she ran into the funeral director.  She had known him since he was an infant. He asked her how she was and she innocently looked up at him and said..

“Mo, I don’t know what I’m going to do if I don’t die soon.” says Annie so sweetly.

“Miss Annie, don’t say that!!” said funeral director Mo in a horrified voice.

“Mo, I’ve lived so long that the outfits I put aside to be buried in have gone out of style”. She then burst out laughing! She was quite the character and beloved by everyone who knew her!

Annie lived in a little apartment on her own until she was a month shy of 101 years old. A bout with pneumonia sent her to the nursing home to recuperate and she decided to stay.  she broke her hip a couple of months later and was bedridden until she passed. She still was styling!! We would buy nice fancy nightgowns and I would split them up the back with tie ribbons like a hospital gown. It made it easy for the nurses to dress and care for her.

Annie at her 104th birthday (her last) in a fancy pale blue nightgown trimmed in white lace.

Aaahhh I miss her everyday. Thanks for indulging me and allowing me to share her with y’all.

Here I am in this weekend’s outfits:

Running Errands Outfit:
Crops-Goodwill, Tshirt-Onestopplus, Purse-Goodwill, Sandals-Croft&Barrow via Kohl’s, Owl Necklace

Baby Shower Picnic:
Top-Dressbarn via Goodwill, Crops-Goodwill, Sandals-Candies via Kohl’s, Purse-Matt&Nat via Goodwill

Church:
Pants-LizClaiborne via Goodwill, Black Stripe Jacket-Dressbarn via Goodwill, Top via Goodwill, Shoes-Ross, Necklace-vintage

I’m linking up with Visible Monday ,  Monday Mingle and Thrifters Anonymous!

 

I hope everyone has a wonderful evening and I’ll be back on Thursday!

TTFN

Tamera

28 comments
  1. Style Mentor™ said:

    How adorable is she?? She was so concerned about what to be buried in and which season… that is just so touching and thoughtful. You look great and I love your blog. And especially Annie’s wedding outfit 🙂

  2. I can see that smile runs in the family!! She looks like a very stylish, dignified woman…how great that you can carry on her legacy! I love that first look…so vibrant!

  3. Marci said:

    What a lovely post. Thank you for sharing Annie with us! -Marci

  4. Serene said:

    Oh Tamera!!! I love this!!! What a fabulous woman and how wonderful for you to claim her as your own!! Must tweet a link to this ASAP! I love her comment, “I’ve lived so long that the outfits I put aside to be buried in have gone out of style” What a woman! Hugs! ~Serene

  5. Tamera–What a wonderful post this is! I loved hearing about Annie and how her concern about her appearance never passed. She seems to have had a great sense of humor. I’ve often wondered what I’ll be dressed up in when I die and I love that she had actually given this some consideration.

  6. A wonderful post! Thanks for sharing. Your outfits are pretty wonderful, too!

  7. Stepping My Way to Bliss said:

    I loved this post…and your Annie sounded like a hoot! I think it is precious that your daughter wore Annie’s jewelry

  8. This is so wonderful. And what a loving great granddaughter you were to her. So funny about her response to the funeral director. I hope I have that kind of sense of humor still with me when I near my end days. It’s so important. thank you for sharing!!

  9. Annie was so fab. Thanks for sharing these sweet stories, Tamera, and for linking up to Visible Monday!

  10. Love. Her. Wedding. Hat. My grandma was very fashionable as well. Everyone at work is pushing me to wear a wedding hat as well. Great post!

  11. Hi Tamara, this has brought tears to my eyes, in a good way. You’ve captured your Annie’s spirit so that I can almost hear her voice. I love this woman. I love the humor, the style and the sweetness conveyed in these stories. How lucky you were to have known her.

    You’re on the blogroll now, and howdy. -Bella Q

  12. I can see Annie in your smile. What a wonderful post and tribute to her.
    You look pretty darn good too! That last outfit is my favorite.

  13. Congratulations on having one of the most sophisticated blogs Ive come across in some time! Its just incredible how much you can take away from something simply because of how visually beautiful it is. Youve put together a great blog space –great graphics, videos, layout. This is definitely a must-see blog!

  14. That is the sweetest thing – I love your reminiscences of your dear auntie. 🙂 Thank you for sharing this! How nice that Julie wore her crystal necklace for her wedding.

  15. Ahhh, the tale of two lovely ladies! Thank you for sharing — it made my day. Oh, and we mud be kindred spirits as we have both chosen the same blog design. I love it!

  16. Louise said:

    What a loving and sweet remembrance. I love that old photo of Annie’s wedding outfit! Clothes were certainly more complicated then. I wonder what her summer outfits looked like in 1910? Aren’t you glad you can wear capris and sandals?!?

  17. Beautiful post, Tamera. Loved her joke with the funeral home director. And she looked so happy in that floral jacket; it just made me smile.

  18. Vix said:

    I loved reading this, Tamera. Annie is such an inspiration to all of us with her positive and practical attitude, sense of humour and style and you’re pretty fabuloyus, too. Loving your eye for colour and glorious smile!
    I’ve tried replying to your email but it keeps bouncing back? Vix xxx

  19. Kristin said:

    This brought tears to my ears…Annie clearly rocked!

  20. I simply want to tell you that I’m beginner to weblog and definitely liked you’re website. Likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog post . You surely have impressive articles. With thanks for sharing with us your website.

  21. My brother recommended I might like this website. He was totally right. This post truly made my day. You can not imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

    PoIuYt

  22. I simply want to say I’m very new to blogging and honestly enjoyed this web blog. More than likely I’m going to bookmark your blog . You surely have impressive articles. Many thanks for sharing with us your blog.

Thanks for visiting!! I love to hear what you're thinking!! I read all of your posts and will try to answer them!

