Drawing a blank here…

Hello Blogland!!! I am totally drawing a blank for a title for this post-LOLOLOL

Daughter and new hubby have returned from their honeymoon. They had a wonderful time in Aruba. As y’all might remember–there has been some trouble with suspicious deaths to young women in Aruba. Several family members had a fit when they heard that’s where the honeymoon was going to be. I said not to worry because Julie is neither blonde nor stupid.

Did my rounds of the Frederick thrifts this week (3 Goodwills & a Salvation Army) and scored some goodies. I found a black crepe knife pleated skirt, khaki and white seersucker crops, olive-green crops, khaki gingham fitted button down blouse, coral-orange gingham button down blouse, cobalt & kelly knit dress (brand new), warm pink Liz Claiborne stretch twill pants, mint green sandals and a pair of gap carpenter jeans for the hubster. Not a bad haul for under $20. AND no jackets or cardigans!!!! I’m off tomorrow so I’ll make my Hagerstown rounds (a Goodwill, Salvation Army, Rescue Mission and Brethern Mission).

Thrifting has allowed me to cycle stuff in and out.  I really have no attachments to my wardrobe (mostly) because it’s mostly thrifted so I have no problem of editing and passing it on.

While making my rounds I had the most delightful chat with a very stylish 70 year old lady. She had scored a couple of stunning jackets and  I commented on them while waiting in line behind her to checkout. She PROUDLY informed me her whole outfit was thrifted. And she was STUNNING–black & white polka dot crops, white slides with black piping and bows, white shell and black and white sailor stripe cardigan. It was accented with a red purse, red chunky 3 strand necklace, 3 red bangles and red hoop earrings. She said the only things not thrifted were her undies and the bracelets-which were a gift. We then had a nice discussion about the local thrift stores!  I wish I had thought to take her picture!

THANKFULLY this was a short week for me (I wish they could all be 3 day work weeks) I almost had to go TDY (that’s army talk for going out-of-town on business) next week for training but we couldn’t work out the details. Looks like the following week. I’ll be able to drive so I’ve scoped out thrifts to check out! Fresh meat!

Behind door #1 on Tuesday I dressed as cool as possible. It was miserable hot and humid. I picked up several of these indian batik button down blouses at the Rescue Mission for $2 each. They are so soft and breezy. It’s the same fabric you find in the tunics but this is a more classic and versatile rendition, which can be styled with cardis and jackets for colder weather. They have 3/4 length button cuff sleeves-which I rolled up.  The crops came from a thrift probably 10 years ago. I think I got my $2 worth out of them! They are my go-to crop for hot days–they fabric is a wonderful cotton and the loose styling keeps me cool. I think I am going to draft a pattern off them and make a couple more pairs.  The sandals are Worthington via Goodwill–but they came off mid-morning as I had to walk a job site and needed more stable shoes! The purse and necklace are vintage.

Behind door #2 is Wednesday’s outfit. I have jumped on the maxi train! Unfortunately often the selection in plus sizes leaves a bit to be desired. Lots of denim frumpers if you know what I mean. I got excited when I spotted this print–my fav colors!! I wasn’t sure if it would work because of the gathered empire waist but it did! It fit perfectly. I love that it has elbow length sleeves. It’s Diane Von Furstanburg, soft rayon fabric and has pockets. I’m thinking about sewing up the side slits because they were annoying. I found two tweedy jackets in my stash that go with it PERFECTLY for cooler weather with tights and ankle booties. I sporting it with a vintage necklace, thrifted purse and Croft&Barrow metallic thongs from Kohl’s.

And last but not least I wore his outfit today! The black denim jacket is one of my recent scores for $3 at the Salvation Army. The flowers are tufted like a chennile bedspread. I love how unique it is-got loads of compliments. The label says “FunStuff” but I’ve never heard of them. I love interesting and unique jackets and cardis–kinda like a statement necklace! The polo is from Lane Bryant. The crops are from the Goodwill. Purse is vintage and the sandals are Croft & Barrow from Kohl’s.

I’m off to tie up my tomato plants. My garden has taken off since it’s finally gotten warmer. Have a wonderful weekend and I’ll be back on Sunday nite!!

TTFN

Tamera

 

5 comments
  1. You look so colorful and fabulous! I’m loving the looks Tamera! Maxi’s great!

  2. Serene said:

    You look very cool and comfortable! And stylishly colorful to boot! I know it’s hot as HECK here! Hugs to you! ~Serene

  3. Louise said:

    Dang, you found the maxi I’ve been searching for! Love those colors and the fact that it has sleeves. No sleeveless, spaghetti strapped tops for this gal…

  4. Hi my family member! I wjsh to say that
    this post iis amazing, great written and include approximateoy all viyal infos.
    I would like to peer more postss like this .

Thanks for visiting!! I love to hear what you're thinking!! I read all of your posts and will try to answer them!

