Got a good beat and it’s easy to dance to!

Hello Blogland!! How is everyone doing this lovely hump day???

I just heard that Dick Clark passed away today. Wow…he was such a big part of my life. My mom was a huge Bandstand fan from the time it went national in 1957. My grandmom told me she would dance to it while pregnant with me and I remember watching it as a little kid.  My parents actually met at a fire-hall dance!

We would be glued to it as a teenager, drinking in the latest styles and dance moves. I’ll also admit to watching Soul Train!! And New Year’s Eve always rocked with Dick Clark. A class act and an American Icon. He will be truly missed.

Broke out the capris and sandals yesterday for ONE day!!  It then turned cold today!! This weather is CRAZY!! Please excuse the blinding white brilliance of my legs!!

Capris-Lane Bryant via Goodwill, Tunic-?? via Goodwill, Scarf via Goodwill, Sandals-Basic Editions via Kmart

I tapered the capris a bit more–they were really wide legged. They are a black trouser denim material. I got the sandals last year at Kmart for $7.99. They are super comfortable-I brought them in brown and white and wished they came in other colors!

I think I’ve settled on my MOB outfit finally. I returned the one dress I got because it kept slipping off my shoulders and was a tad shorter (knee length) then I like. My pasty legs need some coverage!

I needed something that would be comfortable since I’m going to be running around alot doing the desserts, etc. I decided to bite the bullet and make my outfit since I can’t find anything I like!!

The Bride to be gave me permission to wear pants if I want to (it’s outside in the afternoon and not too formal) I’ve decided on pink silk shantung slim cropped pants with a matching sleeveless shell. I found this GORGEOUS chiffon fabric in pale pink with aqua, pale orange, darker pink,  and lavender flowers that I’ll be making a kimono style jacket with.  I’ll keep y’all posted with my progress!

Hope everyone has a great evening!

TTFN

Tamera

3 comments
  1. I was thrilled when crops, pedal pushers, capris or whatever you want to call them came back in style, especially for us older gals who don’t wear shorts anymore. But they can be tricky to look right, even on very slim people. I just left a post on another blog about crops needing to be tapered a bit to look more flattering, so I was glad to see your post confirming my opinion was pretty much right. And here in Idaho, one day cold, the next warm. Does a girl wear turtlenecks & wool or crops and sandels, yikes!

  2. PS Didn’t know about Dick Clark until I read your post. A real icon has died.

  3. I was saddened to hear about Dick Clark too. I loved American Bandstand as a youngster.

    Such a cute outfit and so very smart of you to taper the legs of your capris. I can’t wait to see what you choose or make for your mother of the bride dress. I made the dress I wore to my daughter’s wedding almost three years ago now. But looking back on the pictures I don’t think it was the most flattering thing I could have chosen. Hope you have better luck with yours.

    Hope you have a great weekend!

Thanks for visiting!! I love to hear what you're thinking!! I read all of your posts and will try to answer them!

