The Wayback Machine spits me out….

baby me 1960

Hiya Blogland!!  The picture above is me at 15 months in June 1960! Everyone having a wonderful weekend?? It’s finally cooling down a bit from hotter than the surface of the sun to just ridiculous!! Due to the miserable heat I’ve spent most of the weekend indoors knocking out some projects off my to-do list!!

I explored the joys of jello and, after procuring some vegetarian gelatin powder, tried my hand at glistening molded confections.  I finally tried out a tomato aspic recipe from “Joy of Cooking” and an avocado molded salad from the same. Behold the final products:

wiggly jiggly deights!

wiggly jiggly deights!

I left them in the warm water a bit long before I unmolded them so they were a bit runny. I topped them with a tad of fat-free Vegan mayo. They were DELICIOUS!!! The tomato one had a tablespoon of onion, cucumber and celery mixed in. Next time (and there will be a next time) I’m going to add a bit if cider vinegar for some “bite”. The avocado mold had celery, onion, cucumber and red pepper mixed in. I’m going to try it with some salsa mixed in next-like a guacamole jello!!

I also FINALLY put the contact paper on the tops of my worktables in The Craft Palace. The tables came from Lauren’s old workplace and were beat. I had been covering them with vinyl tablecloths that made me crazy (not that making me crazy isn’t EASY to do). Now they are neater and easier to work on. Of course I had to rearrange a bit!

007

I also spent some time organizing photos. I dug out some of what remains of ME from the 70’s. Most of the photos from that era and early 80’s were destroyed in a basement flood. The Wayback Machine spit out stuff that hasn’t seen the light of day in maybe 35-30 years!! What I want to know is when did I get so old??

1. School picture fall 1974 at age 15. 2. Riding in the back of pic-up summer 1978 at age 19. 3. Outside Smithsonian spring 1979 at age 20.

1. School picture fall 1974 at age 15.
2. Riding in the back of pic-up summer 1978 at age 19.
3. Outside Smithsonian spring 1979 at age 20.

1. Winter 1978 age 19. 2. Formal picture taken to make mom happy spring 1979 age 20. 3. Taken in friends room winter 1978 age 19.

1. Winter 1978 age 19.
2. Formal picture taken to make mom happy spring 1979 age 20.
3. Taken in friend’s room winter 1978 age 19.

Bridesmaid-May 1977 I'm in the green dress

Bridesmaid-May 1977
I’m in the green dress

The bridesmaid dress from hell. It came in late and too big. I took up the shoulders and gathered it in with the sash in the back.

The bridesmaid dress from hell. It came in late and too big. I took up the shoulders and gathered it in with the sash in the back.

1. Christmas 1986-I'm 27 and Julie is 6 months old! 2. Fall 1987-going to my 10 year high school reunion. I'm 28.

1. Christmas 1986-I’m 27 and Julie is 6 months old! This was my attempt at dark brown hair.
2. Fall 1987-going to my 10 year high school reunion. I’m 28. Back to more natural reddish-brown hair.

I can’t believe I’m posting the next picture on the INTERNET!! Evidence that I owned and wore a bathing suit in public. This was taken at a Mommy & Me swim class in January 1987. I’m a month shy of 28 and Julie is 7 months old.

swimsuit

002

I’m linking my very visible past self up with Patti for Visible Monday!! Check out all of the finest ladies in one place!!

Next Sunday I’ll be all moved into the new site at BlogSpot. Still go a bit of decorating and dusting to go!! I’ll be putting up the new link when I post on Thursday!!

Everyone have a fabulous rest of the weekend!!

TTFN

Tamera

43 comments
  1. Sheila said:

    You’re beautiful at every age, Tamera! I love the 70s bridesmaid outfits.

    • Thanks Sheila!! Those bridesmaids dresses were the epitome of 70’s polyester finery. And the HATS–we didn’t realize that the sunlight shining thru mint, lavender and yellow sheer hats cast that GLOW on our faces!!1 LOLOL

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  2. pastcaring said:

    Tamera, I just love these photos of you! You look like such a happy fun person as a youngster, just like now, in fact! And could you look any prouder than the one of you with baby Julie on your knee? I don’t think so!
    I have to admit you still haven’t convinced me about jellied/moulded food… I’m not keen on sweet jellified puddings either, blancmange, jelly, custards, not for me.
    Love that patchwork skirt. Glad your temps have reduced a little to the merely ridiculous! xxxx

    • thanks Curtise. I’ve always been “the funny one”–lololol

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  3. sue said:

    The craft palace looks fabulous! OMG I had a peacock chair in my bedroom when I was a teenager! Love all your photos from days gone by, we were growing up in the same time, I am a product of 1962.

    • Thanks Sue!! Product of 1959 here–the 70’s were a blast!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  4. sweet craft room. Mine’s a hot mess right now and I haven’t even been using it. It’s fun to see old photos of people. There are so many what was I thinking moments with the hair and clothes.

    • don’t let the current neatness of The Craft Palace fool you….lolol

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  5. Vix said:

    I’d know that gorgeous smile anywhere, you haven’t changed a bit! More pictures, please!
    Love that patchwork skirt and I must admit that your interpretation of the 1970s recipe is a lot better than the inspiration! xxxxx

    • Thanks Vix–wish i had more pictures but a flooded basement ruined them except for a few.!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  6. I adore looking at these pics, Tamera, and you’ve always had a killer smile. I think I had that bridesmaid dress too, in the wayback : > Thanks for sharing all the fun with Visible Monday. xoxoxo

    • Thanks Patti–so you had that dress in all it’s polyester glory?? I think the others cut theirs off and wore them again. Mine never was–too big!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  7. marlaslife said:

    very cool, I loved looking at these photos

    • Thanks Marla!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  8. This was so much fun! Love all your photos…what great memories to share. But I have to tell you, I am not sold on the jello molds. ; )

    • Jello molds must be an aquired taste i guess!! They certainly were popular in the day!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  9. Aww… what lovely pictures. It’s fascinating to look at our past and the stages of life we’ve gone through. These are great.

    • Thanks Ally!! I keep asking myself why i hated having my picture taken back then? I wasn’t a troll or anything!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  10. What a fun and enjoyable post. Love the bridesmaid attire. I thoroughly enjoyed taking the ride down memory lane with you, especially fun to see the different hair styles. You are looking ever so beautiful at your most current age.

    • Thanks Trina!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  11. Helga said:

    O, darling, you’ve always had that gorgeous, cheeky smile!
    Such wonderful pix, I adore looking at old photos, trying to remember how I felt then, and what I was thinking…whilst trying not to cringe over some of my fashion choices! I must dig out a few. I have popped some on the blog before, but ages ago. Must be due for some fresh scariness!
    The aspic creations are amazing!!! Slighty unnerving, but amazing none the less!
    XXX

    • thanks Helga–i’d LOVE to see more wayback pix of you and the G man!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  12. Very cool Tamera! I was smiley ear to ear while reading and looking at this! I can see clearly that you were a supermodel way before you were ever menopausal! xoxox!

    • Thanks–i was much shyer and camera-phobic back then!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  13. So grand to see you as a baby, and through the years, ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

    • thanks Sacramento! Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  14. Oh what fun, reliving your life! Isn’t it funny when you have random photos, like the one in the back of the pick-up, or in the swimming pool with Julie? I love those kind of pictures – unposed, and why did someone have a camera with them at that moment?

    I’m jealous of your craft palace! My craft room (flair lair?) is such a mess – and the messier it gets, the less I want to go in there. Yours looks so bright and organized!

    • Thanks Val–the pick-up one is a Polaroid no less. The person taking the photo just got the camera. We were hurtling down the highway at 50mph!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  15. Thanks for sharing your life through some pictures! Will look for your new BlogSpot. xoxo

    • Thanks Paula!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  16. How cool are you! I, too, lost most of my photos in a flood so I understand how wonderful it is to find a few that survived. I think you look terrific – and I have a similar photo of my in a rattan chair LOL!
    Love the photobombing babies, as well ;-)

    Alicia

    • thanks Alicia!! The funny thing isI used to think my 123lb self was FAT!!! LOLOL

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  17. Donna Nance said:

    Loved, loved, loved the pictures! Thanks for sharing. You have always had that big beautiful smile and sweet disposition. It’s always a hoot to look back at what we thought was stylish at the time. I envy your craft room

    • thanks Donna!! The 70’s–when polyester RULED!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  18. love your craft corner, it’s so cute and comfy!
    and so pretty pics, you look so lovely in the swimming pool with your little child!!
    besos

    • Thanks Senora!! she’s not so little anymore–all grown up and married these days. how time flies…..

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  19. jangrahammcmillen said:

    Yeaaayyy you for giving us a bit of photo history of your fabulousness. What a pretty past. I have pitifully few photos of me in the past … I’ve hated most of them, and hid behind the camera until recently. How things change, huh? Love you best today, with the adorable dog bombs.
    Hope the rest of your summer is more pleasant than it has been!

    • Jan–I used to be quite a camera-phobe so there are very few pictures of me to begin with!! Blogging has certainly changed that!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  20. Beautiful then. Beautiful now. So fun to take a trip with you down memory lane.

    • Thank you Judith!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  21. Krista said:

    Tamera these are awesome! I love seeing pictures from back in the day! You were such a cutie pie and I love seeing the baby pictures too, you beautiful young Mama! I love that when you take photos now you are always photo bombed! Peetee sends all his love and licks! Btw I want your craft palace it is really organized and bright!
    Xxxoooo

    • Thanks Krista–being a tad OCD helps keep me organized–LOL Miss Gracie is becoming quite the camera-ham these days. Since we’ve been walking so much we know almost every dog by name in town!!! She is accumulating quite a harem of doggie admirers!! Sending our love and rubz to Peetee and the kitties!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  22. clare said:

    it’s so lovely to see photos of you, obviously you always were a stunner! Love the super 70s-ness. Love that super 80s swimming costume, I’d wear that now! oooh I want to look around the craft palace soooo much!

Thanks for visiting!! I love to hear what you're thinking!! I read all of your posts and will try to answer them!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 365 other followers

