Squares and Florals and Shoes…..

46bc75a88c60923145c0fdd0acf7852fHiya Blogland!!! How is everyone’s week going so far?? It’s still jungle-humid and miserable here in Western Maryland. My garden is starting to explode with bounty–cukes and summer squash out the yazoo, Swiss Chard like crazy and tonite I’m picking the first green beans. I’ll soon have tomatoes and carrots. We’ve been feasting on the bounty!!

I’ve decided with summer and all I’m going to change up my posting schedule to Sundays and Thursdays starting this week.

I’ll be finishing up this week with our flashback to the fabulous Seventies!! Today we’ll check out some of the icons of the era!

Susan Dey (Laurie-Partridge Family) and Maureen McCormaick (Marcia-Brady Bunch) were style icons to teenage girl;s in the early 70's.

Susan Dey (Laurie-Partridge Family) and Maureen McCormick (Marcia-Brady Bunch) were style icons to teenage girls in the early 70’s.

Flip wilson, David Cassidy & Donnie Osmond, Marcia & Peter Brady, Bailey & Jennifer of WKRP, Burt Reynolds, Barry Manilow, Valerie Bertinelli, Mary Tyler Moore, Archie & Edith

Flip Wilson, David Cassidy & Donnie Osmond, Marcia & Peter Brady, Bailey & Jennifer of WKRP, Burt Reynolds, Barry Manilow, Valerie Bertinelli, Mary Tyler Moore, Archie & Edith

The Jackson %, The Osmonds, Stevie Nicks & Lindsey Buckingham, Sonny, Cher & Farah, FREDDY!!

The Jackson 5, The Osmonds, Stevie Nicks & Lindsey Buckingham, Sonny, Cher & Farah, FREDDY!!

Who can forget Charlie's Angels?

Who can forget Charlie’s Angels?

Cher & Michael Jackson, Sly Stone, Elton, Mork & Mindy, Lee Majors & Farah, Peter Frampton, Donny & Marie, BeeGees

Cher & Michael Jackson, Sly Stone, Elton, Mork & Mindy, Lee Majors & Farah, Peter Frampton, Donny & Marie, BeeGees

ABBA, Chico & the Man, Suzanne Somers, Starskey & Hutch, CHIPS, The Jeffesons, Welcome Back Kotter, Randy Mantooth-Emergency (Hubba Hubba-crush!)Ali McGraw

ABBA, Chico & the Man, Suzanne Somers, Starskey & Hutch, CHIPS, The Jeffesons, Welcome Back Kotter, Randy Mantooth-Emergency (Hubba Hubba-crush!), Ali McGraw

Dancing to Amercian Bandstand & Soul Train!!!

Dancing to American Bandstand & Soul Train!!!

Movies of the 70's-Jaws and Grease

Movies of the 70’s-Jaws and Grease

Recognize these commercial stars of the 70's?

Recognize these commercial stars of the 70’s??

TV Cheese of the Seventies!!

TV Cheese of the Seventies!!

Now that I’ve jogged your memories-on to the fashion!!! This week I’m participating in two different theme/challenges!!!  And somehow I’ve managed to incorporate both themes into both outfits-totally randomly!

First up-Monday’s outfit is for SpyGirl’s 52 Pick-me-up Challenge: Floral Bouquet. Oddly enough I don’t have many florals in my wardrobe. Those I have tend to be abstract or bold/modern. I chose this graphic print skirt I made with a simple T–which happens to have a Square neckline that fit’s the other theme this week!!

Top-Thrifted, Skirt-DIY, Shoes-Amerimark, Photobomber-Adorable!

Top-Thrifted, Skirt-DIY, Shoes-Amerimark, Photobomber-Adorable!

Tuesday’s outfit is for Flight Platform Livings Shiny T Tuesday: Squares theme. I pulled out my thrifted gingham capris and mixed it with a floral graphic top I thrifted (see–also goes with Floral Challenge Theme!!). I guess I’m theme multi-tasking!!

Top&capris-thrifted, Shoe-Skecher/Retail

Top&capris-thrifted, Shoe-Skecher/Retail

Here’s a close-up of Tuesday’s bling-I managed to hit both themes with it!!

Buttonflower-Gift from MeganMae, Earrings-Vintage

Buttonflower-Gift from MeganMae, Earrings-Vintage

Wednesday’s outfit is a DIY. I found this awesome tie-dye knit fabric in the clearance bin. It was just enough to make a maxi dress from an old top pattern I modified.

Dress-DIY, Shoes-Amerimark, Bangles-Thrifted

Dress-DIY, Shoes-Amerimark, Bangles-Thrifted

Thursday’s outfit is a look I like to do often. I  need more swishy swoopy maxi-skirts in my life!!

Skirt-JJill/Thrifted, top-Retail, Shoes-WhiteMountain/Retail

Skirt-JJill/Thrifted, top-Retail, Shoes-WhiteMountain/Retail

Here’s a closer look at Thursday’s bling. The earrings were originally buttons from my Great-grandmother’s stash. She saved them off a dress in the 1930’s!!

Bracelet-DIY, Bangle-Thrifted, Necklace=DIY from broken pin, Earrings-DIY

Bracelet-DIY, Bangle-Thrifted, Necklace=DIY from broken pin, Earrings-DIY

And I can’t forget that this week it’s Shoe Shine Wednesday at Citizen Rosebud!! I’m sharing the fantastic Skecher On-the-Go ballerina flats I scored this spring for like 80% off retail. These shoes are so light and comfortable you don’t know you have them on!! Plus–holographic sequined toe caps? How can you lose?

006

I’m off to do some bean picking and some sewing-I’m working on a couple of new dresses!! Everyone have a fantastic weekend and I’ll be back Sunday with the final round-up of Seventie’s Fabulousnesss!!

TTFN

Tamera

34 comments
  1. Sheila said:

    Oh, my god, where to start? Is it wrong that I recognize every one of those stars? And Randolph Mantooth! You and I totally have the same taste in tasty men, Tamera! *drool*

    I love your outfits this week – that blue top is fabulous, I adore the black and white (and the Diva-ette photobomber), and that homemade dress is amazing!

    I got the skirt in the mail today, so linking up to you – it went so well with my outfit today, I had to do a picture wearing it. It’s about 3 inches too big in the waist, but I can take the button in and pin if need be. Everyone in my office was stunned by it…”Is that man holding…a gun?” LOL :) Thank you so much!

    • you can’t have Randy–he’s MINE!! And he is still FINE looking today at age 66!!! I’m so glad you like the skirt!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  2. Hello wee buttonflower!! The ant prints was one of my favorites. I love the floral skirt, it’s got a 70s sort of vibe all its own!

    Also I love your “holo” detailed shoes and bracelet, such a cool effect!

    • am I wrong to want a skirt out of the gingham and ants fabric?? It’s so whimsical!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  3. Great memories, adn wonderful skirts, yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    • Thanks Sacramento!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  4. Vix said:

    Three glorious outfits, I love how the new Diva-In-The-Making is pawing you, too cute! Those daisy earrings are particularly gorgeous!
    Is it wrong to find the women of the 1970s far more attractive than the men? Cher, Stevie, All of Charlies Angels! I did fancy the pants off Starsky, though! xxx

    • you would fit right into any of those pix!! Starsky was more my cuppa tea, too!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  5. Jen @ BellaBean Vintage said:

    You look lovely everyday! I’ve got a real thing for yellow at the moment and the flowers on that skirt look at little peacockesque, bonus! I was so in love with Donny Osmond – so not my cup of tea now….the mad man with the massive macrame is a little freaky!

    • Thanks!! The guy with the macram is a tad dorky!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  6. wonderful 70’s pics, that hair!!, and charlie’s angels!!
    And you look lovely rocking every challenge, love that florals, and your maxi dress!
    besos

    • thanks !!!!!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  7. Serene said:

    Oh my gosh! You have me drunk on nostalgia now!! I used to stare (gaze??) at Donny osmond’s album cover! And the dark haired guy from Emergency?! Hubba hubba!! And who was more chic than Charlie’s Angels?? I wanted to BE them!! Thanks for a great post and you’re looking lovely in your maxis! Hugs! Serene

    • All my friends LOVED the Osmonds–but I was a devout Randy Mantooth/Johnny Gage gal!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  8. oh how i loved the 70’s as a kid i remember once missing charlie’s angels and crying myself to sleep because of it! Everything about that era i adore! you my darling look so gorgeous! clever multi-tasking you! thank you so much for joining the party xxxxx

    • thanks for having the challenge!! Keeps things fresh!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  9. I watched so many of these shows I kinda am surprised! Love all these groovy images I always had a crush on Eric Estrada, so sad seeing him do these cheesy ads on tv ;( You are looking great in your themed looks, seems so easy for you! I love that Gracie drops in all the time, Diva for sure! Give Mr. Bill a big smootch from Peetee and I too.
    XXOO

    • CHIPS was just so much cheesy fabulousness!! Gracie is quite the ham!! MrBill says yo dude to Peetee!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  10. Suzanne said:

    Look at that macrame… bed??? LOL Seems like he might have gotten carried away there. All those icons from the 70’s really bring back my childhood.

    I love your maxis. The fact that you made one is fantastic.

    • I’m not sure WHAT that macram thing is!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  11. Hey, I just did a post on multi-tasking link-ups! You beat me to it, but I didn’t see this until today. I love those graphic florals, especially the yellow skirt. And the button flower is just too cute!

    I adored Susan Dey! Such a girl crush – almost as strong as my crush on Michael Cole of The Mod Squad.

    • Oh yeah-ModSquad!! didn’t we all want to be as cool as Julie/Peggy Lipton???

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  12. Melanie said:

    Ooo, you sewing whiz to make that splendid maxi! You look great in everything you put on when you’re smiling like that. Thanks for the trip through the seventies. So much was about hair and lycra pants. Ack!

    • Hair on the MEN–it definitely was the “thing” for a guy to be sporting lots of it!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  13. pastcaring said:

    So many great outfits, Tamera – especially loving the maxi dress and the monochrome.
    I know a lot of the 70s stars and shows, of course, most were shown over here, but a few I have never heard of, including Randy Mantooth, a quintessential 70s name, I think!
    Your garden sounds bountiful, how lovely – hope you had a great weekend! xxxx

    • Randy starred in a show called “Emergency”-about paramedics in los angeles county. It was AWESOME!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  14. Helga said:

    I hadn’t heard of Randy Mantooth either! I’ve always laughed over the name Randy, which is quite common there-to us, randy means horny!!! Another good one is fanny-to us, that’s your vag, not your arse!!!
    Most excellent pix! Grease! Was it really that long ago?! I remember my mama taking me to that when I was about 12 or 13. Still love it!
    You have got the most gorgeous cheeky grin in all your outfit pix, clearly ‘cos you know you’re looking AWESOME!!! YOWZA!
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    • thanks Helga–Randy was a fine looking guy in the day!! loved GREASE!!! Saw it in the movies when it came out in 78. Dang i’m OLD

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  15. Visiting from the floral mix-up. Loved how your dog photo-bombed your fashion shoot!

    • thanks Tami–she’s quite a little ham! Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  16. Tamera, you just keep getting prettier and prettier. I especially like the mustard yellow skirt paired with the blue tee – so fresh and eye-catching.

    Wow, you brought a lot of my middle and junior high school memories back :)

    Love ya,
    Lynne

    • Thanks Lynne!! It’s fun to get on the Wayback machine

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

  17. clare said:

    oooh look at that little madam trying to get a cuddle, she’s just too cute! Love all that 70s hair – Lindsay Buckingham was rather hot. Love you in a shorter skirt too! very pretty!!

    • Lindsey was SMOKIN’!!

      Tamera

      The Menopausel Supermodel

      ________________________________

Thanks for visiting!! I love to hear what you're thinking!! I read all of your posts and will try to answer them!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 367 other followers

