Chestnuts roasting on an open fire…….

……….seriously do people really do that at Christmas???  I don’t think I’ve ever EATEN a chestnut for that matter!

Santa I just finished

Santa I just finished

Hello Blogland from crazy central!!!!  I’m winging along with the party prep. Yesterday I baked and iced 8 dozen cupcakes. And then I took a nap!  With the Fibromyalgia I have to plan lots of rest and recuperate time. I’m super task-oriented, on top of having OCD tendencies, so I make lists and break down projects into smaller manageable tasks. I may take longer to get it done but it gets done.

Today I prepped all of the food other than the desserts. All I have to do is plop in the oven or crockpot or just set it out. I’m on “resting time” right now relaxing checking out what y’all been up to. Later the hubster will help me clean house (I’ve trained him well-one of the advantages of getting you a boy-toy) Tomorrow morning it’s just put it all on the table and PAR-TAY!!!

Here’s my oh-so exciting menu. I’ve got this down to a science these days. Lot’s of trial and error on what works and what doesn’t. I add something new every year. There will be pix later this weekend!

Sweet stuff: Pumpkin Gingerbread with spiced pumpkin whipped cream, Lemon-Peppermint Bundt Cake, Orange-Cranberry Bundt Cake, Cheesecake Brownies, Chocolate Mint cupcakes, Red Velvet Peppermint cupcakes, Raspberry Chocolate Chip cupcakes, Butterscotch Toffee cupcakes,  M & M Brownie Trifle (I made brownies with mini M&M’s that came out in chunks–so layer with choco pudding and whip cream and wah-lah–trifle!) and assorted Christmas candies.

Here’s the savory stuff: Platters of veggies & dip, fruit platter and a meat/cheese platter–all from the store.  Hot Taco Dip, Hot Broccoli Cheese Dip, Lil Smokies Sausages in Brown-Sugar Mustard Sauce, Retro Sweet & Sour Meatballs (this has been around FOREVER. Its made with cocktail sauce and grape jelly. I subbed ketchup and whole berry cranberry sauce for mine)  Store-brought Onion Dip, Hummus & Spinach Dip, Crackers, assorted chips, pickles and deer baloney.  I gave up making cheeseballs this year  because for some reason they never got eaten.

I take the sweet leftovers to work for those who couldn’t come. They LOVE me for that!

I’ve been yammering on enough! No outfit pix as I look like a wreck in these mangy sweats and apron.  But here is a picture of my “Plastic Fantastic Christmas Wreath” I made this with a bunch of vintage plastic doo-dads I had collected.

077

I just glued it all on a thrifted wreath with a glue-gun. no rocket science to it! I’m on the hunt for another wreath to make an ornament one with all of my solid vintage balls.

Well–I’m off to check up on what kind of adventures y’all been up to!!! chat will everyone later this weekend!!

TTFN

Tamera

4 comments
  1. pastcaring said:

    You are a bloody marvel, you know that, don’t you?! Can I come over for your party please? I’m the life and soul after a glass or two of wine, and may sing 80s classics – you’ll like that!
    I’ve roasted chestnuts before, in the oven though, not over an open fire. They do have a habit of exploding. And at Christmas, we get hot chestnut sellers in town, especially at outdoor festive markets (they use portable ovens, the smell is really festive). Chestnut stuffing is nice too. xxxx

  2. That wreath is the cutest thing I’ve seen all season, way to go!

  3. Clare said:

    You made soooooooo much and I want to come round and eat it all. I love the sound of everything. We don’t do much cooking with pumpkin in the UK and we’re really missing out. Chestnuts aren’t as delicious as I think they are, but nevertheless, I’m going to add them to my Christmas Dinner this year. The wreath is amazing!! I love it! xxx

Thanks for visiting!! I love to hear what you're thinking!! I read all of your posts and will try to answer them!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 367 other followers

