Actually, there are 417…….

Hello Blogland!!! This elf is WHUPPED!!! I just finished some baking for our open house this Saturday. I am so glad I am off work until Monday!! Tonite I’ve made Pumpkin Gingerbread, M&M Brownies, Cheesecake Brownies, a Lemon-Peppermint Bundt Cake and an Orange Cranberry Bundt Cake. Tomorrow it’s 4 kinds of cupcakes!!

I FINALLY got the main Xmas tree up. Hubster Put it up Monday nite and I “fluffed” all the branches-which took over 3 hours. The disadvantages of being somewhat OCD!! I just hate it looking all matted and mangy. Thankfully it’s a pre-lit one!! I put tinsel garland on for the first time in maybe 20 years. I had been hoping to find mercury glass beaded garland but alas, it is too pricy for cheapo me. I brought a big bag of vintage garland at a yard sale this summer and decided to use it!

My supervisor

My supervisor!!!!

Last nite (Tuesday) I put the ornaments on. How many remember the show “Rudolph the Red-nosed Reindeer”?? It’s been playing on CBS since 1964.RUDOLPH THE RED-NOSED REINDEER

I have NEVER missed its tv showing. Seriously, I’ve watched it every year since it premiered. It’s not Christmas for me until I’ve seen it. I have it on DVD but it’s not the same. I HAVE to see the CBS showing! It was on last nite also so I got to decorate watching it. I know every song by heart and the dialogue at this point! “We are Santa’s elves, filling Santa’s shelves….” Good Times!!

Subtracting the two ornaments I dropped, I have 417 vintage ornaments on the tree.  That sounds insane just typing it!!! They are all painted or figural. Doesn’t include the maybe 150+ solid colored vintage balls I have boxed!!! The long white ones are milk-glass icicles that I rescued from the TRASH. They are late 1890’s era!  Here’s the final Tah-Dah!

Here’s a close-up of the topper. It’s  vintage Gorman lead crystal that was made in West Germany.  A friend found two in the boxes in an attic of a house her husband was renovating.

071

Here’s a peek at the prettiest ornament. I didn’t realize Misty was under the tree. Can you see her?

075

The tree in the dining room is all Santa’s. This is for Desiree of Pull Your Socks Up adorable Stylist!

047

And on to the fashion part of the post. Here’s day 2 of my Frock-n-Skirt week:

Skirt-Jessica London via Salvation Army, Blouse-Vintage, Boots-Kmart

Skirt-Jessica London via Salvation Army, Blouse-Vintage, Boots-Kmart

Here it is with my vintage Levi’s jacket!

003

Today’s outfit was inspired by an outfit of the Queen of Color Sheila  at Ephemera! Here’s her wonderful outfit:

011

Here’s my take on her black & white skirt with the purple!

Vest-thrifted, Blouse-DressBarn, Skirt-Salvation Army, Boots-Burlington Coat Factory

Vest-thrifted, Blouse-DressBarn, Skirt-Salvation Army, Boots-Burlington Coat Factory

Here’s the stuff:

Christmas Scarf-thrifted, Jewelry-thrifted

Christmas Scarf-thrifted, Jewelry-thrifted

I’ll be popping in later this week with more Christmas decor pix!! Everyone have a wonderful evening!

TTFN

Tamera

 

10 comments
  1. LOVE your Sheila inspired look. Totally spot on! Wowy wow wow that is some serious tree trimming.

  2. Krista said:

    You are to be applauded not only for your baking skills but that tree is like none I have ever seen. 417 no way and they are all vintage, wow, I hope you do some close ups of these I’m dying to see. Have fun at your open house glad you ave the rest of the week you will need it for sure. I really like your inspired look the purple blouse with the houndstooth looks great on ya.
    Xxoo

  3. Always gorgeous in skirts, Tamera.
    I have to get in the mood of Christmas soon
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

  4. linda davis said:

    Your Christmas decorations are just beautiful!!! Have a blessed day

  5. At Home With Cat said:

    Beautiful – the tree, your decorations and your outfits! :)

  6. pastcaring said:

    You have such energy and motivation, Tamera, I feel exhausted just reading about all that you do! Your trees look incredible – all those ornaments, that’s a lot of balls, hehehe! All your baking sounds so delicious, hope your open house is a great success.
    Lovely outfits, the purple and houndstooth looks great, and you really suit that warm brick red colour.
    Yes, I spotted little Miss Misty hiding under your tree – such a cutie!
    Lots of love from your English sister by Ray Davies! xxxxx

  7. Clare said:

    Your supervisor can’t wait for the ornaments to be on the tree so they can be attacked. The tree is a masterpiece!!
    I’m going to watch that version of Rudolph cos it looks so cute and I was given the book version! I know where it’s from now!

  8. Beryl said:

    What fun baking you did – it all sounds delicious. Your tree topper is wonderful. I am going to start looking for one like it next year. My favorite ornaments have always been icicles and those glass birds with the fluffy white tails. We inherited a few birds from my husband’s mother, that had been his grandmother’s, and I just love clipping them on the tree. They have always gone near the top out of fear that the cats might try to eat them.
    It’s neat the way you took the inspiration of that outfit and had things in your wardrobe that you could recreate it with. I do love the Christmas Tree jewelry!

  9. Vix said:

    Every Xmas tree needs a feline supervisor who can helpfully point out any excess tinsel or baubles by swinging off them! Your house looks worthy of one of those posh department store windows, it’s amazingly well decorated and full of interest! Love both your outfits and you’re totally rocking the dogtooth and purple. xxx

  10. Sheila said:

    That looks fabulous – I’m honoured to be an inspiration! Well done! Love your trees – those vintage ornaments are beautiful.

Thanks for visiting!! I love to hear what you're thinking!! I read all of your posts and will try to answer them!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 368 other followers

